< Back

Cameron University Office of Campus Life presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Campus Life is pleased to announce the recipients of its annual awards, which are presented to students, faculty and staff. Awards including the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding juniors and seniors over the age of 25. Students are selected based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics.

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Bissendorf, Germany: Steffen Riestenpatt

Buenos Aires, Argentina: Melany Opolz

Cache: Rikki Tasso-Thompson

Duncan: Jordan Clauson

Geronimo: Carly Johnson

Ijebu-Ode, Ogun, Nigeria: Tolulade Adenuga, Goodness Agboola

Lawton/Fort Sill: Joy Christie, Kaylee Craig, Tykia Ferebee, Djimon Jones, Danielle Lewis, Rylee McKee, Jose Olivo, Kerrigan Thorne, Jason Villarreal, Madison White

Tacoma, Wash.: Caitlin Anders

Walters: Sara Williams

Westville: John Pruitt

Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Duncan: Joseph Speight, Billie Strutton, Kayla Willett

Irving, Texas: Virginia Quarles

Lagos, Nigeria: Hakeem Ayoola

Lawton/Fort Sill: Stacie Larsen, Dawn Becker-Miller, Jennifer Lavender, Ashley Unsinn

Russellville, Ark.: Jennifer Price

John Geiger, Professor of Psychology, was named Professor of the Year. Michelle Smith, advisor for the Oklahoma Aspiring Educators Association, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Susan Hill, Administrative Assistant in the Department of Communication, English and Foreign Languages, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

The Accounting Club achieved Platinum Aggies status in addition to being recognized as a Five-Star Organization. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement. Additional Five-Star Organizations are Black Student Association, CU Chapter of Circle K International, Diversity Diplomats, Oklahoma Aspiring Educators Association and Sigma Tau Delta.

The award for Outstanding Community Service Project is bestowed upon the Accounting Club for its Volunteer Accounting Tutoring Program. The Black Student Association earned the Outstanding Event of the Year for “Teamwork Makes the Dream Work.”

John Bachelor, Duncan, was named PAC General Member of the Year. Ka’Tavia West, Lawton, was honored as Outstanding Student Organization Leader for leadership of the Black Student Association, and Navila Shababi, Lawton, was named Outstanding Student Organization Member for her participation in PAC.

Officers for the Student Government Association for 2020-2021 are Jose Olivo, Lawton, President; Cecilia Brown, Lawton, Vice President; and John Bachelor, Duncan, Treasurer.



Press Releases by Year