< Back

CU students and student organizations honored during University Awards

The achievements of Cameron University students and student organizations were recognized during a recent awards ceremony hosted by the Office of Events and Activities.

Two students were honored with Outstanding Student Organization Leader awards. Belinda Foley, vice president of Association of Computing and Technology Students, and Alexandra Moya, co-president of the Programming Activities Council, were recognized.

The Exemplary Student Organization award recognizes an organization that contributes most to the lives of its members and student life on campus. The Association of Computing and Technology Students earned the honor.

The Accounting Club was honored with the Outstanding Community Service Project Award for its service projects in conjunction with the Oklahoma Society of CPA’s Day of Service. This year, the club volunteered at Rainbow Bridge Can Wait Animal Rescue’s PetsMart adoption day and also worked to clean up the KidsZone Park.

The Accounting Club also took the top honor for Event of the Year – Academic Organization. In commemoration of the International Day of Happiness, the club attached positive messages to small rubber ducks and distributed them across campus.

Event of the Year – Non-academic Organization was bestowed on Gamma Delta Pi’s Native American Heritage Gala. The organization celebrated diversity on campus with food and a fashion show during this educational event highlighting Native American Heritage Month.

Kobe Jones was named Intramural Student Athlete. He was a standout at intramural basketball.

Ceceilla Cheek was honored with the Emerging Student Organization Leader award for her work with the Programming Activities Council. The award recognized Cheek’s positive attitude, inviting personality, and her ability to make new members feel welcome.

Cheek was also recognized by the Programming Activities Council with the Most Supportive Award.

The Programming Activities Council presented additional awards. Tawny Vanover received the Unmatched Dedication Award, Ha Nguyen was honored as the Budding Star, and Harmon Parmer was presented with the Ole Reliable Award.

The Student Government Association recognized Brason Janoe with its Leadership in Legislation award. Janoe was recognized for displaying a strong sense of leadership in the authorship and presentation of legislation to SGA.

The Office of Admissions recognized Kristi Alvarado for outstanding representation as an Aggie Ambassador.

The ceremony concluded with the passing of the gavel as new Student Government Association officers were sworn in. Nathan Wester is now the organization’s president, Blake Howard serves as vice president, and Destiny Arrowood is the treasurer.


Students are listed by hometown below:

Altus: Belinda Foley

Apache: Harmon Parmer

Chattanooga: Ceceilla Cheek

Elgin: Blake Howard, Alexandra Moya

Fletcher: Destiny Arrowood

Guthrie: Nathan Weston

Lawton/Fort Sill: Kristi Alvarado, Kobe Jones, Ha Nguyen

Rattan: Brason Janoe

Terral: Tawny Vanover


Press Releases by Year