< Back

“Celebrate the Music” of the holiday season with the Cameron University Concert Choir and Elgin Owl choirs

The Cameron University Concert Choir and the Elgin Owl choirs will unite to “Celebrate the Music!”, an evening of holiday music. The free concert is slated for Thursday, November 30, at 7 p.m. and will take place at the Elgin High School Performing Arts Center, located at 520 K Street.

Dr. Christian Morren, director of the CU Concert Choir, reports that she and Misty Hively, Elgin Owl choirs, have selected a repertoire of timeless carols and familiar favorites, as well as a couple of unexpected pieces.

The CU Concert Choir will perform “French Carol Duet,” arranged by Mary Donnelly, “Gaudete!” by Ruth Morris Gray, “Love’s Pure Light, Silent Night” by Michael John Trotta, “Songs for a Winter’s Night” by Gordon Lightfoot, and a “Mid-Evil Fa La La” for acapella voices by Reginald S. Wright. Members of Cameron’s band and orchestra will accompany the choir on selected pieces, including Matthew Hogg, Lawton, on flute, Bellamarie Saucedo, Lawton, on clarinet, and Susan Morren,Norman, on cello.

The Elgin Owl fifth grade choir will perform “Rock Around the Jingle Bells,” and the sixth grade choir will present “In Winter so Many Stars.” The seventh and eighth grade choir will offer “Sing Alleluia, Allelui,” and the Elgin High School Choir will present “There was a Time.” A special jazz group will present “Besame Mucho.”

The groups will combine forces for “Carol of the Bells” and “And God Gave Music” by Oklahoma composer Darla Eshelman.

Members of the CU Concert Choir are:

Altus: Tatiana Robinson

Decatur, Texas: Abigail Howard

Duncan: Mars Garcia, Taylor McQuinn

Elgin: Veronica Squire

Fletcher: Heather Heinz

Joplin, Mo.: Grace Norbury

Lawton/Fort Sill: Vanessa Cleophat, Divina D’Haiti, Julian Davis, Kirstin Dunn, Dannielle Edwards, Sydney Gibson, Samantha Gillespie, Brittany Hall, Peter Macias, Alexander Miller, Mena Stone, Aleah Weber, Lillie Wright

Los Angeles, Calif.: Victoria Moody

Marlow: Marianne Anderson

Moreno Valley, Calif.: Sophia Avila

Oklahoma City: Kymbre Muse

Walters: Hadlee Smith

Youngstown, Ohio: Marckese Williams


PR# 23-168

Press Releases by Year