< Back

Cameron University student scholars accept invitation to join Phi Kappa Phi

Nineteen Cameron University students have met the rigorous requirements to join Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors.

Students were inducted during an initiation ceremony held near the conclusion of the spring semester. In addition to the students honorees, Cameron University associate professor Kyle Moore was inducted as a faculty member.

Two special honors were presented during the initiation ceremony. Stacia Naquin, a 2001 Cameron graduate, was recognized as the chapter’s Distinguished Alumna for 2022. Naquin is an Emmy and Edward R. Murrow Award-winning journalist who is currently anchor for WSYX and WTTE television stations in Columbus, Ohio. Clinton Bryan, a professor in the Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering and a CU faculty member since 1988, was named the chapter’s Distinguished Faculty Member for 2022.

Students who were initiated are listed by hometown:

Altus: Paul Long

Apache: Sarah Lindsey

Brisbane, Australia: Julianne Garcia

Cache: Caley Filipek

Davidson: Garrett Haight

Duncan: Ryan Kerr, Annabelle Wharton. Merribelle Wharton

Elgin: Michael Christensen, Mikalyn Moreland

Lawton/Fort Sill: Dezmond Caldwell, Alexis Chao, Kourtney Colley, Maci McMurtrey, Severin Simonsen

Montevideo, Uruguay: Pilar Jaurena

Mountain Park: Paula Hickerson

Ryan: Laken DeBoard

Tulsa: Kaitlyn Herbert

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi has more than 280 chapters worldwide. The Cameron University chapter was established in 1975 and is one of only five in Oklahoma. CU is the only regional university in the state with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.



Press Releases by Year