< Back

Academic achievement by Cameron students recognized by prestigious honor societies

During the week of October 31, Cameron University will recognize the academic achievements of its students during Scholars Convocation Week, which celebrates the research, scholarly and creative activities of CU students, faculty and staff.

For approximately 40 years, the university has held Convocation as a dedication of its academic mission. These annual gatherings featured a processional of students and faculty, the wearing of academic regalia and a parade of banners denoting each department on campus. For the past two years, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Cameron presented Convocation as a video presentation in order to continue the annual recognition of student achievement.

This year, instead of limiting that recognition to a single ceremony, Cameron will celebrate its best and brightest faculty and students during Scholars Convocation Week.

The observance includes recognizing CU students who have been accepted for membership into national and/or international honor societies. Cameron congratulates the students listed below on the academic accomplishments that led to induction into one of these prestigious organizations.

“An invitation to join a national and/or international honor society is a prestigious distinction that is a direct result of scholarly achievement, a strong work ethic and a dedication to learning,” says Dr. Ronna Vanderslice, Vice President for Academic Affairs. “We are pleased to celebrate and recognize so many deserving Cameron students.”

Honorees who authorized publication of their name are listed by city of residence.

Altus: Paul Long (Alpha Phi Sigma); Cassandra Ramsey (Beta Beta Beta)

Apache: Connie Goodwin (Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi)

Brisbane, Australia: Julianne Garcia (Phi Kappa Phi)

Cache: Kristen Asbury (Phi Eta Sigma); Kinsey Black (Phi Eta Sigma); Mikel Blann (Phi Eta Sigma); Caley Filipek (Phi Kappa Phi); Emily Frees (Phi Eta Sigma); Aalia Seaman (Phi Kappa Phi); Madison White (Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi); Hollie Winslett (Phi Eta Sigma)

Cement: Jefferey Warden (Pi Mu Epsilon)

Central High: Brande Bone (Delta Mu Delta)

Chattanooga: Kourtney Randall (Phi Eta Sigma)

Chickasha: Breanna Pursley (Phi Sigma Iota)

Comanche: Grace Myers (Phi Eta Sigma); Scott Smith (Phi Eta Sigma); Kevin Womack (Delta Mu Delta)

Cordell: Catherine Jacobs (Delta Mu Delta)

Dallas, Texas: Caitlyn Henderson (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Eta Sigma)

Davidson: Garrett Haight (Gamma Sigma Epsilon, Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi)

Duncan: April Martin (Phi Eta Sigma, Psi Chi); Desiree Miller (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Eta Sigma); Kimberly Myers (Delta Mu Delta); Felicia Ruiz (Delta Mu Delta); Annabelle Wharton (Phi Kappa Phi); Colton Williams (Delta Mu Delta)

Edmond: Sicily Gonzalez (Phi Sigma Iota)

Elgin: Jadance Black (Beta Beta Beta, Phi Eta Sigma); Michael Christensen (Phi Kappa Phi, Psi Chi); Matthew Dobbs (Phi Eta Sigma); Jacqueline Duran Chavez (Beta Beta Beta); Denisse Findlay (Phi Sigma Iota); Scotlyn Koehler (Kappa Delta Pi, Sigma Tau Delta); Grant Long (Phi Eta Sigma); Morgan Magness (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi); Mikalyn Moreland (Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi); Alexandra Moya (Beta Beta Beta, Phi Eta Sigma)

Ennis, Texas: Ryan Carter (Phi Kappa Phi)

Faxon: Colby Gilpen (Phi Eta Sigma); Blakelee Marco (Phi Eta Sigma)

Fletcher: Heather Heinz (Phi Eta Sigma)

Fort Hood, Texas: Shalei Okamura (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Eta Sigma)

Frederick: Makenna Hill (Kappa Delta Pi, Phi Eta Sigma, Sigma Tau Delta)

Geronimo: Shalyn Bowles (Alpha Psi Omega, Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi); Wyatt Johnson (Phi Kappa Phi); Melissa Weidow (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Kappa Phi); Kenzie Young (Sigma Tau Delta)

Harrah: Katie King (Phi Eta Sigma)

Indiahoma: Hannah Elzey (Phi Eta Sigma)

Lawton/Fort Sill: Aleyshia Almenau (Phi Eta Sigma); Robert Bausch (Phi Eta Sigma); Rachael Bender Delta Mu Delta); Dezmond Caldwell (Phi Kappa Phi); Parker Carbone (Delta Mu Delta); Destiny Carter (Phi Sigma Iota); Hailey Ida-Marie Carter (Alpha Phi Sigma); Victoria Chambers (Kappa Kappa Psi); Sarah Chappell (Phi Sigma Iota); Morgan Chisolm (Kappa Kappa Psi); Elizabeth Coleman (Phi Eta Sigma); Thalia Cox (Phi Eta Sigma); Salin Dao (Phi Eta Sigma); Holly Davis (Psi Chi); Indigo Delacruz (Pi Mu Epsilon); Gina Engel (Phi Kappa Phi), Kimberly Fisher (Phi Kappa Phi), Heather Frampton (Phi Sigma Iota); Kathryn Gray (Beta Beta Beta); Dylan Griggs (Phi Eta Sigma); Jana Hapka (Phi Eta Sigma); Carmen Head (Alpha Psi Omega); Abigael Heaverin (Phi Eta Sigma); Moises Jaime (Beta Beta Beta); Pilar Jaurena (Delta Mu Delta, Phi Eta Sigma); Brent Jenkins (Phi Eta Sigma); Cassandra Jones (Phi Kappa Phi), Bianca Karnes (Beta Beta Beta); Heather Kimball (Phi Kappa Phi), SheKayla Love (Phi Eta Sigma); Katherine Madigan (Delta Mu Delta), Sacred Martinez (Phi Eta Sigma); Adriana Martinez Ramirez (Kappa Delta Pi); Maci McMurtrey (Phi Kappa Phi); Allison Mendonsa (Phi Eta Sigma); Monika Mercer (Phi Eta Sigma); Julianne Meyers Phi Sigma Iota); Delaney Morgan (Sigma Tau Delta); Jose Olivo (Psi Chi); Alexandra Patterson (Phi Eta Sigma); Brittney Payette (Phi Eta Sigma); Cole Pretorius (Phi Eta Sigma); Alyssa Price (Kappa Kappa Psi); Alissa Reed (Phi Kappa Phi); Cally Ruiz (Beta Beta Beta); Cade Ruple (Phi Eta Sigma); Jessica Sefranek (Phi Eta Sigma); Julie Shalkowski (Pi Mu Epsilon); Chandler Shirley (Kappa Delta Pi, Sigma Tau Delta); Laurellai Shreffler (Beta Beta Beta); Kylee Sohl (Phi Eta Sigma); Jim Teeter (Phi Kappa Phi), Kelly Vo (Beta Beta Beta, Phi Eta Sigma); Aubrey Waxler (Alpha Psi Omega); Aidan Weaver (Phi Eta Sigma); Dakota Weeks (Alpha Psi Omega); Hannah Wellman (Phi Eta Sigma); Tammar Williams (Psi Chi); John Alexander Young (Alpha Phi Sigma)

Mangum: Emily Fogle (Sigma Tau Delta)

Marlow: Micah Elroy (Phi Eta Sigma); Ciara Johnson (Phi Kappa Phi); McKailey Rennaker (Kappa Delta Pi): Randi Whaley (Phi Kappa Phi)

McKinney, Texas: Jasmin Campas (Delta Mu Delta)

Montevideo, Uruguay: Pilar Juarena (Phi Kappa Phi)

Mountain Park: Paula Hickerson (Kappa Delta Pi, Phi Kappa Phi)

Mountain View: Mackenzie Payne (Phi Eta Sigma)

Okmulgee: Ryley Balius (Kappa Kappa Psi)

Orwigsburg, Pa.: Jodi Pagnanelli (Delta Mu Delta)

Owasso: Mackenzie DeAnda (Kappa Delta Pi)

Randlett: William Clem III (Phi Kappa Phi, Pi Mu Epsilon), Shelly Thompson (Phi Kappa Phi)

Ratliff City: David Martin (Phi Eta Sigma): Drew Martin (Phi Eta Sigma)ramsey

Rush Springs: Savannah Munn (Kappa Delta Pi, Phi Eta Sigma)

Ryan: Laken DeBoard (Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi)

Walters: Bralea White (Phi Eta Sigma, Pi Mu Epsilon)

Waurika: Jessica Murray (Phi Eta Sigma)

Yukon: Grace Crowell (Gamma Sigma Epsilon)


PR# 22-134

Press Releases by Year