Cameron Students posing for a picture on Campus

Texas Oklahoma Regional Undergraduate Symposium

The conference organizers would like to extend their warmest invitation to the 14th Annual Texas Oklahoma Regional Undergraduate Symposium (TORUS), which is being held at Cameron University in Lawton, Oklahoma on Saturday, February 15th, 2020. Undergraduate students, faculty, and any persons interested in the mathematical sciences are encouraged to register and attend.

Registration will begin at 8:00 am in the Science Complex just off Old Kim Lane and Black and Gold Boulevard on the CU campus. The conference is scheduled to include invited addresses from Dr. Michael Dorff, President of the Mathematical Association of America, 2019 - 2021, and Professor of Mathematics at Brigham Young University in Provo, UT, and Dr. Joyati Debnath, Professor of Mathematics at Winona State University, in Winona, MN. There will also be a panel discussion on careers with a mathematics degree, various student talks, and a friendly, Jeopardy-style contest between the represented university teams (three-person teams, please).

This one day conference is an excellent opportunity for presenters who would like to propose a course project, undergraduate research, or related material in the mathematical sciences in an encouraging atmosphere. Talks should run no longer than 12 and 15 minutes. This includes allowing time for questions. For more information, please contact Dr. Narayan Thapa, Chair of the Mathematical Sciences Department at Cameron University via email at

Registration will open on November 20th, 2019. As we draw closer to this date, we will send an email with the link, a registration form, and more information.

There is no fee to register for the conference, but in order to help with planning, we ask that participants register early. Undergraduates who are planning to give a presentation should register by February 3rd, 2020. Lunch will be provided for all participants. TORUS is funded by NSF DMS Award # 1758113.


The 2020 TORUS Committee