Cameron welcomes new members to Kappa Delta Pi education honor society

Cameron University’s Upsilon Xi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society in education, initiated 22 new members recently during a ceremony held on the CU campus.

Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi requires high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession. Only those who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions granted membership.

CU Students inducted into Kappa Delta Pi, listed by hometown, are:

Chelsea: Apryl Lawhorn

Claremore: Jennifer Hoagland

Headrick: MSchell Cheek

Lawton/Fort Sill: Dana Moore, Charles Leslie III, Sherry Tetreault, Alyssa Mixon, Tracey Roberson

Marlow: Kelli Boman, Tiffany Wright

Nowata: Melissa Campbell

Oologah: Tanya Briley, Jimye Sharp

Pauls Valley: Vickie Cantrell

Ponca City: Lyndsey Woods

Pryor: Angela Graves

Rosebud, Texas: Angelina Stallings

Rush Springs: Cynthia Rennaker 

St. George’s, Grenada: Nichole Cooper

Talala: Paige Parrett

Walters: Heather McElhany

Wichita, Kans.: Clorie Broadbent

For more information about education programs at Cameron University, contact the Department of Education at 580-581-2320.

About Kappa Delta Pi

Founded in 1911, Kappa Delta Pi is the largest honor society in education, representing 572 undergraduate and professional chapters and more than 45,000 active members. Its most distinguished members over the last century have included Margaret Mead, Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, and current leaders in education Howard Gardner, Maxine Greene, and Carol Gilligan.



December 21, 2010