Cameron University Office of Campus Life presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Campus Life presented awards to students, faculty and staff during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding juniors and seniors over the age of 25. Students are selected based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics.

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Altus: Christopher Crismon

Baglung, Napal: Khanal Sharan

Cache: Rikki Tasso-Thompson, Jason Villarreal

Davidson: Karley Patterson

Duncan: Jordan Clauson

Elgin: Madison Lyda, Kendra Mansfield

Elk City: Luis Jaquez

Fort Riley, Kans.: Courtney Lewis

Ijebu-Ode, Ogun, Nigeria: Tolulade Adenuga

Lawton/Fort Sill: Joy Christie, Candace Craig, Megan Craig, Robert Day, Aalia Oloyede, Hella Quinnett, Madison White

Mountain View: Summer Palmer

Okmulgee: Kristopher Mayfield

Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Conrad, Neb.: Kyra Ann Franklin

Duncan:   Stacey Corp

Lawton/Fort Sill: Dawn Becker-Miller, Brett Burk, Patricia Fields, Ann Patterson, Ashley Unsinn

Manchester, United Kingdom: Charlotte Taton

Marlow: Jessica Harmon

Virginia Beach, Va.: Kelda Lathan-Bennett

Madison Dirickson, Marlow, was named PAC Executive Member of the Year, and Jefferey Warden, Cement, was named PAC General Member of the Year. 

Christopher Crismon, Altus, and Victoria-Lemoe Esera, Lawton, were named Intramural Players of the Year.

Nominees for the following awards were submitted by members of the campus community and selected by a committee of students, faculty, and staff.

Dr. Ioannis Argyros, Professor of Mathematical Sciences, was named Professor of the Year. Bernadette Lonzanida, advisor for the Accounting Club, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Cody Flood, Advisement Specialist in the Academic Advising Center, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

The Cameron University Native American Student Association was named Platinum Aggies in addition to being recognized as a Five-Star Organization. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement. Additional Five-Star Organizations are Aggie Club, Diversity Diplomats, Engineering Club, History Club, International Club, MathCom, Nepalese Association, Nigerian Student Association, P.R.I.D.E., Psi Chi,and Sigma Tau Delta.

“Taking a Pig to Lincoln Elementary”, sponsored by the Cameron Aggie Club, was honored as Outstanding Community Service Project. John Risner, Elgin, was recognized as Outstanding Emerging Student Organization Leader for his involvement in the CU Engineering Club. The Outstanding Program of the Year award was presented for Poetry and Chill, sponsored by the Diversity Diplomats. Kristopher Mayfield, Okmulgee, was honored as Outstanding Student Organization Leader for his leadership of the Residence Hall Association and the Diversity Diplomats.



April 23, 2019