Cameron University theatre arts students honored

Cameron University’s Department of Art, Music, and Theatre Arts had its 2018-2019 Theatre Arts awards ceremony celebrating the accomplishments of their students this past year with a season celebrating “Where Everything Comes Together!”

The event began with presentation of Honor Cords to graduating seniors Kelsey Hood, Oklahoma City, and Jacob Parkhurst, Lawton, who are members of Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.

Dakota Weeks, Lawton, received the outstanding contribution by a non-major for his work for his work as a performer in “Disney’s The Little Mermaid” and for his work in the shops.  Kelly Pendergraft, Lawton, received a Special Recognition Award for his contributions in the scene shop for “Disney’s The Little Mermaid.” Joy Christie, Lawton, received the Academic Achievement Award in recognition of achieving the highest grade point average within the discipline.

Performance awards were given to Abbey Rinestine, Lawton, for her role as the A1 in Sarah Kane’s “4.48 Psychosis,”  Cole Nowlin, Anadarko, for the role of Norman in “November,”  MacEwan Sanders, Lawton, for the role of Duchotel in “13 Rue de L’Amour,” and Joy Christie for Ariel in “Disney’s The Little Mermaid.”

Technical Achievement Awards were also presented. Recipients were Kelsey Hood, Oklahoma City,  for Outstanding Costume and Make-up Design, “Living Together,” Stephanie Sabol, Lawton, Outstanding Stage Management for “13 Rue de L’Amour,” and  Dakota Barbee, Walters, for Assistant Stage Management of “Disney’s The Little Mermaid.”

McMahon Foundation scholarships were awarded to Barbee, Christie, Rinestine, and Sabol, as well as  Ciara Renée, Lawton,  and Emily Whatley, Duke.

Officers for Cameron University’s Phi Lambda chapter of Alpha Psi Omega for the coming year include Abbey Rinestine as President, Stephanie Sabol as Vice-president, Joy Christie as Business Manager, and Payton Williams and Emily Whatley as Co-Student Government Representatives.

Alpha Psi Omega is the American National Theatre Honor Society that recognizes participants in collegiate theatre programs.  To be eligible a student must have a strong grade point average, show leadership skills, and work in more than one aspect of theatre such as acting, technical, stage management, design or publicity.



May 9, 2019