Cameron University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta welcomes new members, presents awards

The Cameron University Department of Communication, English and Foreign Languages welcomed 10 new members to the Beta Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society.

Inductees into the Cameron University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international  English honor society, are (standing l to r) Jerrica Baker, Ashley Galan, Kimberly Frey,  Briley Jones, Katherine Book, Brittany Paden, and Rebeka Velasova. They are joined  by 2019-20 officers (seated, l to r) Djimon Jones, and Brooke Purkey.Inducted into Sigma Tau Delta were Katherine Book, Kimberly Frey, Ashley Galan, Michaela Obenauf, and Brittany Paden, Lawton; Jerrica Baker and Breanna Lane, Elgin; Taylor Gonzalez, Duncan; Briley Jones, Chattanooga; and Rebeka Velasova, Bern, Switzerland.

Brooke Purkey, Sterling, will serve as president for 2019-20, and Djimon Jones, Lawton, was elected vice president and will also serve as SGA Representative. Frey will serve as secretary, and Book as treasurer.

Jessica L. Spence, Walters, was honored with both the Lawton Shakespeare Club Award and the Geraldine Burns Award.

Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society, was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University. The society strives to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.



April 26, 2019