Cameron University students, staff and faculty honored by Phi Kappa Phi

Cameron University students, alumni, staff and faculty members were honored by Phi Kappa Phi during the university chapter’s annual induction ceremony and awards presentation. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

2019 Phi Kappa Phi inductees“Receiving an invitation to join Phi Kappa Phi is recognition of a student’s dedication and commitment to academic excellence,” says Cathy Blackman, chapter membership coordinator. “We are pleased to celebrate the achievements of this year’s inductees.”

Students who accepted membership are listed by hometown:

Altus: Rebecca Chapa

Anadarko: Sydney Prince

Cache: Rikki Tasso-Thompson

Duncan: Jordan Clauson, Trisha Collins, Macey Lagaly, Rebeka Miller, Joseph Speight, Stephanie Sullivan

Elgin: Bethany Davis, Kassidy Owens

Fletcher: Mariana Encinias

Lawton/Fort Sill: Megan Boyer, Brett Burk, Francisco Canonicco, Micah Coleman, Kylie Dew O Briant, Dorien Doedyns, Ashley Drake, Tykia Ferebee, Kimberly Fisher, Samantha Grant, Christopher Harper, Enrique Hernandez Lopez, Brittany Hutchinson, Anna Kirchen, Amy Kruscavage, Kelda Latham-Bennett, Lawson Miracle, Brittany Otero, Tashina Ototivo, Jaren Owens, Ann Patterson, Erin Reynolds, Sarah Slaybaugh-Martinez, Ashley Unsinn, Jason Villarreal, Diana Webb

Monticello, Ind.: Faith Sears

Oklahoma City: Bethany Green

Snyder: Anthony Knott

CU faculty members Dr. Courtney Glazer, Associate Professor of Education; Bernadette Lonzanida, Instructor of Accounting; and Dr. Joanni Sailor. Associate Professor of Psychology, were selected for membership, as was staff member Kay Means, Assistant Director of Admissions.

Dr. Christopher O. Keller, Chair, Department of Communication, English and Foreign Languages, was honored as Distinguished Faculty, and Dr. Krista Lemley, Class of 2006, was honored as Distinguished Alumnus. After earning a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry at CU in 2006, Lemley earned a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from Oklahoma State University-College of Osteopathic Medicine. Board certified by the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, she has a medical practice in Weatherford, Texas.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. The Cameron University chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is host to one of only five chapters in Oklahoma and is the only regional university in the state with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.




April 9, 2019