Cameron University chapter of Phi Sigma Iota holds initiation banquet

Cameron University's Delta Rho Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, the Foreign Language International Honor Society, welcomed new members during its Spring Initiation Banquet.  Phi Sigma Iota recognizes outstanding ability and achievement in the study or teaching of academic fields related to foreign language, literature or culture. Inducted into the Delta Rho chapter were CU students Brittany Donley, Cache; Theresa Fletcher and Lizette Ross, Lawton; Lisa Monroy-Garcia, Elgin; and Ellenette Welborn, Duncan.

Bettina King, Lawton, will serve as the organization’s president for 2019-20, Fletcher will serve as vice president, and Monroy-Garcia will serve as secretary/treasurer. Dr. Jose Gonzalez will serve as faculty advisor.

Scholarship and awards were also presented during the ceremony. King was awarded the Graziella Scholarship, and Fletcher and Monroy-Garcia each received a Delta Rho Benke Scholarship.

Founded in 1922, Phi Sigma Iota was the first language society to receive membership in the U.S. Association of College Honor Societies. Membership is by invitation only and is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages. The Delta Rho Chapter at Cameron University, chartered in May 1988, was the first Phi Sigma Iota chapter chartered in the state of Oklahoma.



June 4, 2019