CU Office of Student Activities presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Student Activities presented awards to students, faculty and staff during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding college students over the age of 25. A committee of faculty, staff and students selects honorees for both lists based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics. 

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Altus:  Jessica Roy

Anchorage, Alaska: Hailey Harris

Apache:  Bobbi Jo Loflin

Chattanooga:  Ali Brown

Duncan:  Sarah Vrla

Elgin:  Kevin Stieb

Geronimo:  Lauren Mounts

Granite:  Sidney McCormack

Indiahoma: Ronnie Currey

Kathmandu, Nepal:  Rushna Shrestha

Lagos, Nigeria: Kehinde Adelusi, Taiwo Adelusi, Oluwatomisin Atolagbe, Silas O. Oyewale

Lawton: Vivian Arroyo, Jereme Cobb, Joseph Coleman, Jacob Jardel, Colton Rancourt

Snyder:  Jetta Trammell

Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Basseterre, Saint Kitts & Nevis: Eloise Herbert

Carlisle, Pa.:  Carson Stringham

Castries, Saint Lucia: Lyndel Monrose

Dallas, Texas: Rebecca Espinosa

Frederick: Jennifer Green

Jenks:  Andrea Beth Dollarhite

Lagos, Nigeria: Oloyede Moranuoluwa

Lawton: Francisco Clarke, Rochelle Mayers-Albert

Posadas, Argentina: Santiago Daniel Romero

The following students received CU Leadership Awards for having attended the CU Leadership Academy or advanced leadership workshops:

Basseterre, Saint Kitts & Nevis: Eloise Herbert

Fletcher: John Chappell

Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria: Christianah Olubajo

Lagos, Nigeria: Bola Adams

Lawton/Fort Sill: Courtney Barden, Darius Jones, Markita Nash, Patrick Perez  

Oklahoma City: Macy Garcia

Sidney McCormack, Granite, was sworn in as president of the Student Government Association for 2014-15. Nikki Kirk, Chattanooga, and Casey Meek, Lawton, were sworn in as vice president and treasurer, respectively.

Alexandra Kolinski, Lawton, was honored as Outstanding PAC New Member of the Year, and Cody Jackson, Lawton, was recognized as Outstanding PAC Returning Member of the Year.

Jacob Quickle of Sterling and Maddie Geiger of Snyder were named Intramural Players of the Year.

Dr. Mary Dzindolet, Chair of the Department of Psychology, was named Professor of the Year. Sarah Stroud, advisor for the Cameron University Nepalese Association, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Peggy Simons, Sodexo, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

Aggie Outreach, Cameron University International Club and Sigma Tau Gamma were recognized as Five-Star Organizations. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement.


April 18, 2014