Cameron University launches new degree program in engineering

Cameron University has added a new degree program, Associate in Applied Science in Engineering, effective with the Fall 2014 semester. The new two-year program was approved by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education on May 30, 2014, and is offered through the Department of Physical Sciences. The program offers five areas of concentration: civil engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, industrial engineering, and environmental engineering.

“We are pleased to offer this new program, which offers the advantages of Cameron University’s low cost and convenience, high quality instruction, small class sizes and caring professors,” says Ronna Vanderslice, Vice President for Academic Affairs.  “The Associate in Applied Science in Engineering degree program has been developed over the past five years by faculty in chemistry, physics and mathematics. Dr. Danny McGuire, Dr. Gary Buckley and Dean Terry Conley have worked tirelessly to develop a comprehensive course program that will lead to more Oklahoma college graduates.”

In order to attain the Associate in Applied Science in Engineering, students must complete two years of coursework – at least 68 hours – including four semesters of advanced mathematics (such as calculus and differential equations), two semesters of engineering physics, one to three semesters of chemistry, four semesters of engineering courses, and coursework to meet Cameron’s general education requirements. 

Upon completion of the prescribed coursework and degree attainment, graduates will be able to transfer to the junior year of a bachelor’s degree program in engineering. Cameron is currently working with colleges of engineering in the state to develop articulation agreements that will provide a simplified, guaranteed transfer of credits.

Cameron’s Associate in Applied Science in Engineering program is the only engineering program offered in southwest Oklahoma.

For more information, contact Dr. Danny McGuire, Chair, Department of Physical Sciences, at 581-2246 or Dr. Terry Conley, Dean, School of Science and Technology, at 581-2308.


August 5, 2014