Cameron University presents creative writing awards

Cameron University students were honored for their creative writing at the English program’s banquet in early April. The fiction, non-fiction, and poetry award winners will be published in “The Gold Mine,” Cameron’s literary arts magazine.    

Kathleen Guill, Lawton, won the 2014 Matt P. Haag Creative Writing Scholarship Award for her short story “Struggles of the Heart.”  The contest, established in 1996 to honor the memory of former Cameron English major Matt P. Haag, is open to all Cameron undergraduate students and was judged by approximately 40 of Haag’s family members and friends.

The 2013 Leigh Holmes Prize for Creative Nonfiction was awarded to Rhiannon Poolaw, Lawton, for her essay “Roots: Warrior Woven.” Faculty members Dr. William Carney, Dr. Bayard Godsave, Dr. Hardy Jones and Dr. John G. Morris served as judges for the contest, which is open to all Cameron undergraduate students. Holmes established the contest in 2003 to encourage Cameron students to learn to write nonfiction prose well.

Rose Welch, Lawton, won the 2014 John G. Morris Poetry Prize for her poem “Nightlife.”  Second place was awarded to Nicholas Brush, Lawton, for his poem “Have You Ever Been So Angry That You Taught Someone You Hate How To Make a Grilled Cheese Sandwich.” Carson Stringham, Lawton, received third prize for his poem “Traveling North on I-83.”  Honorable mention went to Corrine Binnings, St. Ann, Jamaica, for “In The Ghetto” and Sara Rios, Lawton, for “In Him I See Myself.”  Submissions were judged by Dr. Nathan Brown, Poet Laureate of Oklahoma. The contest was established in 2006 by Morris, in honor of his mother, the late Marian Cary Miles Morris-Zepp.

Three student works were nominated for the Associated Writers and Writing Programs Intro series competition. Rios’ “Hotbox” and “Born to Exist,” works of fiction and non-fiction, respectively, and Brush’s second place poem in the Morris competition were submitted. Winners of the national competition will be published in three national literary journals.      


April 18, 2014