Cameron University Communication Department honors students with awards

Cameron University’s Department of Communication honored students during its annual awards ceremony. Awards were presented in numerous categories.

In the Broadcast field, students specializing in Radio/Television were recognized. Awards were presented to Eloise Herbert, Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis, for TV host; Nicole Hartvigsen, Lawton, for TV Directing; and Jamal Parker, Geronimo, for Television Photography. Students receiving CUTV Production Awards were Makenzie Burk, Haley Swinford and Morgan Thompson, all of Lawton; and Alexis Page, El Paso, Texas. Noah Copeland, Indiahoma, was honored for Radio Production. Jacory Shannon, Lawton, was recognized as Most Improved. The Darth Tater Stealth Excellence in Production Award was presented to Kim Garner, Lawton.

Jack McGuire, Lima, Ohio, received the Skipper Bivins Big Fish Award, which recognizes a student who demonstrates excellence, professionalism, creativity and initiative.

Journalism students were recognized for their contributions to CU’s newspaper, The Collegian, and Receiving awards for Journalistic Excellence were McGuire as well as Tyler Boydston, Duncan; Kaylee Jones, Kali Robinson and Kaitlyn Stockton, all of Lawton; and Sadie Jones, Fletcher.

Kaley Neal, Duncan, and Ricky Petty, Grandfield, were recognized for research papers they delivered at a student conference earlier this semester.

Inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, the national honorary society for undergraduates in communication that recognizes, fosters, and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while stimulating interest in the communication discipline, were Hartvigsen as well as Nicole Clobes, Jereme Cobb, Hannah Smart-Sawyers, Smith Steigleder, all of Lawton; Dena Jennings, Snyder; Bishaka Karki, Kathmandu, Nepal; Christina Nalsen, Altus; Kaley Patterson, Frederick; and Dakota Scott, Cache.


May 1, 2014