Cameron University Department of Music recognizes students during annual awards ceremony

The Cameron University Department of Music celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony by presenting individual awards and recognizing 2013 graduates.

Concert Band awards were presented to Prezell Duckett and Joseph Kinsman, Lawton; Andy Vitense, Cache; Lorenzo Diaz, Fatima Rivera and Quinton Williams, Duncan; and Kirstie Bridges, Fletcher. The Beth Adcock Award for the non-major music major in Concert Band was presented to Mariama Abramson, Cache.

Jazz Ensemble awards were presented to: Diaz; Ashim Bohara, Kathmandu, Nepal; Dylan Shadoan, Fletcher; and Irmtraud Bryant and Brad Wolf, Lawton.

Percussion Ensemble awards were presented to Vitense; Quinton Williams; Lilah Gilmore, Iowa Park, Texas; Marquis Williams, Duncan; Kendall Jones, Lawton; and Tyler Reeves, Denton, Texas.  

The Dave Sandstrom Award, epitomizing the consummate volunteer spirit, was presented to Peter Macias, Lawton, for participation in the Concert Choir and to Brittany Curtis, Lawton, for participation in the Concert Band.  

Spenser Jones, Oklahoma City, was honored with the Civic Symphony award for the second consecutive year.

Jiha Choi and Kathryn Patterson, Lawton, and Rubin Ghimire, Kathmandu, Nepal, were inducted into Pi Kappa Lambda, the national music honor society.

Choi was also honored with the William Fletcher Piano Award, named in honor of the former piano and music history instructor, and the 2013 Accompanying Award.

Alyssa Yates, Elgin, was honored for Musical Theatre Achievement. Jessica Fernandez, Lawton, received the Outstanding Freshman award for vocal and choral performance. The American Choral Directors Award was presented to Chelsea Jenkins, Lawton.

Opera awardees were Jenkins, Macias, Yates, Alyson Hays, Marlow; Kaley Neal, Duncan; and Christopher Beckett, Kathryn Burns, Melissa Delgado, Mark Deyesso, Jamie Hatcher, Thomas Hudson, Anastacia Martel, Jennifer Nixon and Jose Rodriguez, Lawton.

Members of the Centennial Singers received recognition with a special award. Yates, Fernandez, Hatcher, Hays, Macias, Nixon, Rodriguez, Wolf and Jordan Brickhouse, Altus, were honored.

Additionally, a number of scholarships were awarded during the ceremony.

Brickhouse was named Cameron’s Presser Scholar, a designation reserved for the department’s most outstanding music students. The scholarship award is made possible by the Theodore Presser Foundation, which is dedicated solely to the support of music and music education. 

The Kathryn Hickman Scholarship, established in 1978 by CU graduate Kathryn Hickman, was presented to Yates.

Other scholarship awards included the Lawton Music Teachers Association scholarship, presented to Kassandra Duran, Lawton; the Philip and Aldine Cash Endowed Scholarship, presented to Quinton Williams and Patterson; and the Schubert Music Club Scholarship, presented to Diaz and to Ike Chan, Hong Kong.

McMahon Foundation Scholarships were presented to Bohara, Chan, Diaz, Duran, Fernandez, Gilmore, Hatcher, Hays, Jenkins, Jones, Kinsman, Martel, Nixon, Patterson, Reeves, Rodriguez, Yates, Trenton Ford, Cache; and Holly Evans and Shane Rutherford, Lawton.


May 16, 2013