Cameron University presents creative writing awards

Cameron University students were honored for their creative writing at the English program’s banquet in early April. The fiction, non-fiction, and poetry award winners will be published in “The Gold Mine,” Cameron’s literary arts magazine.

Amanda Goemmer, Lawton, won the 2013 Matt P. Haag Creative Writing Scholarship Award for her short story “The Ravenous Well.”  The contest, established in 1996 to honor the memory of former Cameron English major Matt P. Haag, is open to all Cameron undergraduate students and was judged by approximately 40 of Haag’s family members and friends.

The 2013 Leigh Holmes Prize for Creative Nonfiction was awarded to Keaton Lamle, Lawton, for his essay “Resurrection Day.” Second place was awarded to Carson Stringham, Lawton, for his essay “These Ears of Mine.” Mikayla Riddles, Duncan, won third place for an essay titled “Mommy.” The contest, which was judged by Dr. Leigh Holmes, professor emeritus, and faculty members, Dr. William Carney, Dr. Bayard Godsave, and Dr. John G. Morris, is open to all Cameron undergraduate students. Holmes established the contest in 2003 to encourage Cameron students to learn to write nonfiction prose well.

Senior Amanda Bell, Lawton, won the 2013 John G. Morris Poetry Prize for her poem “Senility Sestina.”  Second place was awarded to Seth Copeland, Indiahoma, for his poem “Confluence of.” Maurice Buckner, Lawton, received third prize for his poem “Parkinson’s.”  Honorable mention went to Goemmer for her poem “Rearranging the Uniform” and Jacob Jardel, Lawton, for his poem “Abundant Metaphysical Resonance.”  Submissions were judged by Dr. Benjamin Myers, associate professor of English at Oklahoma Baptist University and winner of the 2012 Oklahoma Book Award for his collection of poetry, “Elegy for Trains.”  The contest was established in 2006 by Morris, in honor of his mother, the late Marian Cary Miles Morris-Zepp.

Three student works were nominated for the Associated Writers and Writing Programs Intro series competition. Bell’s short story “For Emily,” Stringham’s nonfiction prose essay “These Ears of Mine” and Copeland’s poem “Where I am, Where I Go” were submitted to the competition.       


May 1, 2013