CU Office of Student Activities presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Student Activities presented awards to faculty, staff and students during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding college students over the age of 25. A committee of faculty, staff and students selects honorees for both lists based upon the nominees’ grade point average, student activities, leadership and honors. Grades account for 40 percent of the total score, while activities make up 60 percent. 

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Chattanooga: Jared Barkley Kirk

Elgin: Amy Kennedy, Jessica Landoll

Grandfield: Brooke Jeffus

Ibadora, Nigeria: Oluwatoyese Oyewole

Lagos, Nigeria: Tolulope Agbetunsin, Oluwabunmi Fatodu, Godsfavour Umoru, Yvette Unoarumbi

Lawton: Geraldine Brady, Hannah Brock, William Fleshman, Ornella Nelson, Britany Pyfer, Charles Underwood

Leedey: Jordan Kauk

Snyder:  Bryce Geiger, Seth Geiger

St. David’s, Grenada: Giselle Greenidge

Tishomingo:  Cody Gardner


Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Carriacou, Grenada: Junior Braveboy

Castries, St. Lucia: Sylvia Clery, Chad Hunte

Lagos, Nigeria: Olanrewaju Odunayo

Lake Tahoe, Nev.: Thomas Smith

Lawton/Fort Sill: Jasmin Estrada, Kay L. Specht, Daisy Woods

Old Road, St. Kitts & Nevis: Cremoy Agard

Pokhara, Nepal: Ashim Ghimire

Dan Schabot, Instructor in the Department of Communication and Director of Cameron’s Forensics Team, was named Professor of the Year, while Dr. Jenel Cavazos, Assistant Professor of Psychology, and advisor for Psi Chi, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Kurt Jn Marie, Coordinator of Administration Systems in the Office of Information Technology Services, was honored as Staff Person of the Year.

Organization of the Year honors went to the Sigma Alpha Omega, a Christian social sorority.

Eleven student organizations were recognized as Four-Star or Five-Star Organizations. The organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement.

Accounting Club, Nigerian Student Association, Psi Chi, Society for Human Resource Management and Students in Free Enterprise were named as Four-Star Organizations. Alpha Phi, CU Nepalese Association, Chemistry Club, International Club, Sigma Alpha Omega and Sigma Tau Gamma were named Five-Star Organizations.

Shante’e Hicks of Lawton was named Programming Activities Council (PAC) Member of the Year, and Sidney McCormack of Granite was named New PAC Member of the Year. The Student Government Association honored Nikki Streussnig of Lawton and Colten Kennedy of Elgin as Senators of the Year.



May 3, 2012