Cameron University’s Dr. E. Ann Nalley named Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Cameron University’s Dr. E. Ann Nalley, Professor of Chemistry and Clarence E. Page Endowed Chair in Math and Science Education, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). As part of the Education Section, Dr. Nalley was elected as an AAAS Fellow for outstanding contributions to chemical education as a leader, a teacher, and a mentor, and for improving the professional status of women in chemistry worldwide. She will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin at the AAAS Fellows Forum in February.

“Ephoto of Dr. Ann Nalleylection as a Fellow of the AAAS is an enormous honor and speaks volumes about Dr. Nalley’s reputation and professional contributions,” says Dr. John McArthur, Provost. “Dr. Nalley’s service to the sciences extends far beyond Cameron University as evidenced by her numerous national recognitions. She is an outstanding advocate for students in the sciences and for her colleagues.”

Dr. Nalley has served the students of Cameron University for more than 40 years. She earned a B.S. in 1965, an M.S. in 1969, and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Texas Woman’s University in 1975. Nalley started her teaching career as a chemistry and mathematics instructor at Muskogee Central High School before joining the Cameron faculty in 1969. In 1995, Nalley received Cameron’s highest service honor, the Distinguished Service Award, becoming the first professor to be so honored. She was inducted into the Cameron University Alumni Association’s Faculty Hall of Fame in 1996 and into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2010.

Dr. Nalley's activities in the American Chemical Society (ACS) as well as the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) have earned her recognition at the national level. She served as the National President of ACS in 2006 and as the National President of PKP from 1996-1998.

In 1992, she was honored by the five sections of the American Chemical Society as the Oklahoma Chemist of the Year, the first and only woman to be so honored. In 1996, ACS presented her with the Henry Hill Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professionalism, and in 2009, she was elected as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, the first person from Oklahoma to be so honored.


Other honors include the Oklahoma State Science Teacher's Association, Higher Education Oklahoma State Science Teacher of the Year; Oklahoma's Governor’s OCAST Award for Outstanding Contributions to Economic Development in Oklahoma; Southwest Technology Distinguished Research Award; the Cameron University Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Promotion of Excellence Award; two Phi Kappa Phi Meritorious Service Award; and the Iota Sigma Pi Award in Professional Excellence. She has been listed in Who’s Who in America every year since 1995.


Her work has earned international acclaim, as demonstrated by her having been the plenary speaker at chemistry conferences at Seoul, Havana, Singapore, Moscow, Taipei and Hiroshima and Kobe, Japan..  She was the first woman to hold a position on the Committee to Organize an International Meeting for the Chemical Societies of the Countries Bordering on the Pacific Ocean (PACIFICHEM) and served in that position for 10 years. 



December 3, 2012