Cameron University announces winners of creative writing contests

Cameron University students were honored for their creative writing during the English program’s banquet in early April. The winning works of fiction, poetry and nonfiction will be published in The Gold Mine, Cameron’s literary arts magazine.

Leah Chaffins, a senior English major from Lawton, won the 2012 Matt P. Haag Creative Writing Scholarship Award of $250 for her short story “Devil’s Pass.”  The contest, established in 1996 to honor the memory of former Cameron English major Haag, was created and judged by approximately 40 of his family members and friends. The contest is open to all Cameron undergraduate students.                              

Seth Tyler Copeland, a junior English major from Indiahoma, and Aubrey Vandall, a senior English major from Lawton, shared the $250 first prize in the 2012 Leigh Holmes Prize for Creative Nonfiction for their essays “Dirtnap Bedfellows: A Few Thoughts on Death” and “22 Seconds,” respectively.  Cameron faculty members Dr. William Carney, Dr. Bayard Godsave, Dr. Leigh Holmes, and Dr. John G. Morris judged submissions for the contest, which is open to all Cameron undergraduate students.  Holmes, Professor Emeritus of English, established the contest in 2003 to encourage Cameron students to learn to write nonfiction prose well.

Sophomore Luke Myers, an English major from Lawton, won the $250 first prize in the 2012 John G. Morris Poetry Prize competition for his poem “Sestina.”  The $150 second prize went to freshman English major John M. Overstreet, Jr., of Lawton for his poem “summer twothousandeleven.” Jennifer McCain, a senior English major from Lawton, won the $100 third prize for her poem “The Other.”  Senior Maurice Buckner, Lawton, and junior Colton Rowe, Cache, received honorable mention citations for their entries.  Award-winning poet Dr. Jeanetta Calhoun Mish, a member of the Red Earth MFA program faculty at Oklahoma City University and publisher of the Mongrel Empire Press, was the judge. Morris, Professor of English, established the prize in 2006 in honor of his mother, the late Marian Cary Miles Morris-Zepp. The competition is open to all Cameron undergraduate students. 

Works by Copeland, McCain and Myers have been nominated for the Associated Writers and Writing Programs Intro series competition: Copeland’s short story, “Marazzi’s International on 62nd Street, Next to the Coffee House,” McCain’s nonfiction prose essay “Relations,” and Myers’ poem “A Day in the Life of the Last Man on Earth.” Winners of the national competition will be published in three national literary journals. 


April 19, 2012