Cameron chapter of Phi Kappa Phi inducts new members

Cameron University students, faculty members and alumni were inducted into the university’s Chi Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony held in mid-April. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation’s oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. CU’s Chi Eta Sigma chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is the only regional university in Oklahoma with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.

Faculty and administrative staff selected for member this year are Dr. Sarah Eppler Janda, Associate Professor of History and Government, and Dr. John M. McArthur, Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Students selected for membership are listed by hometown:

Burkburnett, TX:  Carrie Harvey

Burlington, TX:  Angelina Stallings

Cache:  Jennifer Dias, Joan Gabelmann, Amber  Harrington

Castries, Saint Lucia:  Alexandra Aurelien

Chitwan, Nepal:  Sadiksha Sharma

Claremore:  Natalie Vogt

Dripping Springs, TX:  Cheryl Raesz

Duncan:  Penny Sutton, Patricia Wininger

Elgin: Amy Kennedy, Colten Kennedy, Jessica Landoll, Samuel Mitrovich

Grandfield:  Brooke Jeffus

Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria: Oluwaseun Adenuga

Indiahoma:  Carol Shelton

Kathmandu, Nepal:  Rashmi Thapaliya

Lagos, Nigeria:  Esther Obiokoli, Odunayo Olanrewaju, Oluwamayowa Toyin-Moses

Lawton/Fort Sill:  James  Apriesnig, Rachel  Blevins, Nicole  Broberg, Shannon  Burkholder, Rose  Calloway, Jutta  Carter, Gary  Clark, Tara  DeLonais, Ronald  Fisher, Francisco  Gonzalez-Rodriguez, Amy  Hannington, Sabrina  Harrell, Amy  Herring, Randy  Kyota, Stephanie  Lee, Kayleigh  Marlin, Paula  Merrifield, Ornella  Nelson, Jimmy  Powers, Jamaal  Richardson, Ishia  Saltibus, Simon  Schmidt, Britney  Steinert, Chase  Swinford, Rebecca  Taylor, Charles  Underwood

Marlow: Gregory Hough

Medicine Park: Rachel McLain

Oologah: Amber Rincker

Parker, CO: Jessica Priest

Seattle, WA:  Natasha Branch

Shawnee: Erin France

Skopje, Macedonia:  Blagica  Ristovska

Snyder:  Kaitlyn Taylor

Tulsa:  Briawn Franklin

Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria: Stepheny Acholonu


April 18, 2011