Cameron University music students named to Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honors Band

Four Cameron University students have been named to the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honors Band by the Oklahoma Music Educators Association (OMEA). Lawton natives Grant Johnson, a senior percussionist, and junior Melissa Delgado, a flautist, as well as Duncan residents Lorenzo Diaz, a junior trumpeter, and sophomore Fatima Rivera, bassoonist, were honored with selection to the prestigious group. They joined more than 100 other students from 18 colleges and universities in Oklahoma to perform at OMEA’s annual winter conference in late January.

photo of Cameron students in band

The honor band is comprised of top band students from universities and colleges across Oklahoma who are recommended by music directors and then audition for placement within their respective sections. The students rehearse together for two days and perform a difficult program. Each year, a different world-renowned conductor and clinician is invited to conduct the ensemble. The 2011 band was conducted by Michael Haithcock, Director of Bands at the University of Michigan. The Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honors Band is sponsored by OMEA and the College Band Directors National Association of Oklahoma.

The Cameron University Department of Music is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music.


 January 27, 2011

PR# 11-018