Cameron University professor honored by Oklahoma Community Theatre Association

Cameron University’s Scott Richard Klein, Chair of the Department of Theatre Arts, has been honored with the Jeanne Adams Wray Special Recognition Award by the Oklahoma Community Theatre Association (OCTA). The award, named for one of the organization’s founders, is presented to individuals who have contributed significantly and indirectly to the recognition and success of quality theatre in the state of Oklahoma.

Klein was recognized for his devotion to OCTA for the past 20 years, his many contributions to live theatre programs in Oklahoma, and his desire for the progress and success of OCTA.

“Receiving the Jeanne Adams Wray Award is a huge honor, and I am grateful to the awards committee for recognizing my endeavors on behalf of community theatre in the state of Oklahoma,” says Klein.

Klein, a Cameron faculty member since 1989, teaches Directing Acting, Children’s Theatre, Stage Speech, Introduction to Theatre and more. He also directs two productions each year. Previous honors include being named Theatre Educator of the Year by the Oklahoma Speech Theatre Communications Association and Lawton Arts and Humanities Educator in the Arts.

Klein serves on the board of Lawton Community Theatre and is a member of OCTA, the American Association of Community Theatre, the Texas Non-Profit Theatres Association, and the Oklahoma Speech Theatre Communications Association. 


August 18, 2011

PR# 11-140