KCCU earns award from Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters

KCCU, Cameron University’s public radio station, received an award from the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters (OAB), an organization representing radio, television and online media outlets across Oklahoma, during the organization’s annual awards ceremony last week. KCCU’s series on the Gene Autry Museum received the Best Feature-Series award. KCCU is classified in the Metro Radio division; KCCU entries faced competition from stations in the Oklahoma City and Tulsa metropolitan areas.

 “I’m honored that the OAB recognizes the significant journalistic work we’re producing at KCCU,” says David Meyer, New Director and producer of the winning series. “The Gene Autry Oklahoma Museum is one of the Sooner State’s little known treasures.”

Meyer came to KCCU in March of 2008.  Since then, he has earned two national radio journalism awards  and several regional and state awards. Meyer reports from the Oklahoma State Capitol on a regular basis.  His news features can be heard weekdays at 7:30 a.m., 8:30 a.m., 4:30 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

“The Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters Awards are among the most prestigious journalism honors in the state,” said Ted Riley, General Manager of KCCU. “This award is a testimony to the loyalty of KCCU’s faithful listeners and members and to the quality and depth of public radio journalism that KCCU provides throughout western Oklahoma.”

KCCU is a non-commercial educational station licensed to Cameron University in Lawton. The KCCU network includes radio stations in Ardmore, Altus, Chickasha, Clinton, Lawton, Woodward, and Wichita Falls, Texas.


April 5, 2011