Cameron University Communication Department honors students with awards

Cameron University’s Department of Communication honored students during its annual awards ceremony. Awards were presented in numerous categories.

Recipients of Speech Team awards were Troy Flewellen, Tulsa, who was honored with the Dr. J.C. Hicks Outstanding Individual Events Competitor Award, and Paul Boudreaux, Tulsa, and Brenna Welch, Owasso, who each received the Dr. Richard Smith Outstanding Debate Competitor Award. Welch also received the Tony Allison Outstanding Forensics Contributor Award.

In the Broadcast field, students specializing in Radio/Television were recognized. Awards were presented to Michael Faggett, Dallas, Texas, and Hannah Muirhead, Lawton, for Television Producing; Patrick Ross, Lawton, and Ishia Saltibus, Micoud, St. Lucia, for Television Directing; and Mitch Watson, Garden City, Kan., for Radio News.

Public Relations/Organizational Communication students recognized for Academic Excellence were Jasmin Estrada, Las Vegas, Nev.; Thomas D. Smith, Lawton; and Brandon Thompson, Cyril. Amanda Harris, Lawton, was recognized for Outstanding Leadership in the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and was also named Outstanding Senior in PR.

Journalism students were recognized for their contributions to CU’s newspaper, The Collegian, and Receiving awards for Journalistic Excellence were Megan Bristow, Lawton; Amanda Cantu, Lawton; Tahira Carter, St. George’s, Grenada; Rebecca Craft, Lawton,  Rachel Engel, Burleson, Texas; Michael Faggett, Dallas, Texas; Ashleigh Fletcher, Lawton; Jim Horinek, Duncan; Dianne Riddles, Lawton; Amber Spurlin, Snyder; Rashmi Thapaliya, Kathmandu, Nepal; and Brandon Thompson, Cyril.

Tammy Anderson, Ashley Del Ciello, and Amanda Harris, all of Lawton, and Jordan Scribner, Jenks,   received Lambda Pi Eta Research Awards. Lambda Pi Eta is the national honorary society for undergraduates in communication that recognizes, fosters, and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while stimulating interest in the communication discipline.


May 4, 2011