Cameron University students inducted into criminal justice, sociology honor societies

Cameron University’s Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology recently hosted an induction ceremony for Alpha Kappa Delta, the international sociology honor society, and Alpha Phi Sigma, the national criminal justice honor society. Dr. Maxwell Kwenda, Associate Professor and faculty advisor to Alpha Kappa Delta, and Sheri Jenkins Cruz, Instructor and faculty advisor to Alpha Phi Sigma, hosted the ceremony.

Membership in Alpha Kappa Delta is open to students who have reached at least the junior level and who have officially declared sociology as a major or who demonstrate a serious interest in sociology. Undergraduate candidates must be ranked in the top 35 percent of the class in general scholarship, must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average in sociology courses and must have completed at least four regular courses in sociology. Graduate students must have completed one half-year of graduate study in sociology with a graduate GPA of B or better and continued matriculation in a program of study leading toward a graduate degree in sociology at the host institution.

Students inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta are listed by hometown:

Cache: Rachel K. Smith

Frederick: Lacey B. Oxford

Lawton: Keri Elizabeth Baca, Jamie Kathryn Bayne, Alicia S. Cummings, Manuel A. Dawson, Amber Margaret Harkins, Cathy Annette Humphries, and William H. Shane

Marlow: Angela M. Boles

Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence by undergraduates as well as graduate students of criminal justice. To become a member, the student must have completed one-third of the total hours required for graduation at his/her institution. Undergraduate candidates must maintain a minimum of 3.2 overall GPA and rank in the top 35 percent of their classes, must have a 3.2 GPA in criminal justice courses, and must have completed a minimum of four courses within the criminal justice curriculum. Graduate students are required to maintain a minimum of a 3.4 GPA in both criminal justice courses and overall courses and must have completed a minimum of four courses within the criminal justice curriculum.

Students inducted into Alpha Phi Sigma are listed by hometown:

Cache: Cristy N. Livengood

Chandler: Tiffani A. McBride

Duncan: Mark E. Cowan, Amy M. Green, Chantelle G. Prince-Cowan, Kevin O’Kelley

Frederick: Larry R. Thompson

Gulf Port, Fla.: Joshua Checki

Iowa Park, Texas: Megan D. Chaney

Lawton: Maurice Akers, Michael K. Beyer, Keriena Brull, Crystal D. Grizzle, Guy Eric Gross, Darlene M. Holle, Allyssa Ann McDonald, Cynthia A. Reynolds, Herman L. Vicks and Clancy Williams.

Snyder: Kaitlyn E. Taylor



May 4, 2011