CU Office of Student Activities presents annual awards

Cameron University's Office of Student Activities presented awards to faculty, staff and students during a ceremony held last night on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding college students over the age of 25. A committee of faculty, staff and students selects honorees for both lists based upon the nominees' grade point average, student activities, leadership and honors. Grades account for 40 percent of the total score, while activities make up 60 percent. 

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Chattanooga: Megan Carothers

Chendu, China: Jingshu Zhao

Dallas, TX: Michael Faggett

Duncan: James Horinek

Elgin: Ryan Faucett

Garden City, KS: Kyle Luetters

Lalitpur, Nepal: Sadikshya Bhandari

Lawton: Mary Adkinson, Tajriat Ahmed, Elizabeth Bryan, Stacy Carden, Rebecca Craft, Amanda Finch, Amber Joy Fuhrmann, Sabrina Harrell, Whitney Harstadt, Julianne Moini, Steffan Sigler

View-Fort, St. Lucia: Jeriah Jn. Charles, Miah Jn. Charles

Making Cameron's Top 10 list are:

Castries, St. Lucia: Ginelle Clauzel, Sharlyne Dujon

Jhonge City, Taiwan: En-Hai Lee

Lawton/Fort Sill: Geraldine Brady, Shannon Burkholder, Sandra Butler, Bettina Franz, Rosalia Jaume, George Keck

St. Thomas Parish, St. Kitts & Nevis: Dominique Honders

Andrew Baker, Assistant Professor in the Department of Art, was named Professor of the Year, while Kara Morris, Admissions Counselor and advisor for Aggie Ambassadors, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Jonna Brown, Coordinator of Special Events, was honored as Staff Person of the Year.

Organization of the Year honors went to the Chemistry Club, which educates the community about chemistry and promotes awareness of Cameron's Department of Physical Sciences throughout southwest Oklahoma through the judging of science fairs and the presentation of speakers.

Sean Eckrote of Lawton was named Programming Activities Council (PAC) Member of the Year, and Trevor Geiger of Snyder was named New PAC Member of the Year. The Student Government Association honored Judith Egbas of Lagos, Nigera, and Chad Hagermann of Lawton as Senators of the Year.


April 21, 2010