CU student legislators win awards at Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature

Representatives of Cameron University's Student Government Association were named Outstanding House Delegation at the recent session of the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature (OIL). The Cameron delegation was comprised of Stephanie Belter and Daniel Brown, both of Lawton; Jordan Lindsey, Grandfield; Emily McKee, Snyder; Ashley Cermack, Springfield, IL; and Judith Egbas of Lagos, Nigeria. Egbas was also named first runner up as Outstanding House Member. Legislation written by Holly Neville of Lawton was one of only four pieces of legislation to be passed by the OIL House and Senate and then signed by the OIL Governor. 

"Participation in the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature allows college students to experience how state government works and prepare them for a life in public service should that be their goal," says Jennifer Holland, Vice President for Student Services. "The Cameron delegation was genuinely engaged in the process and were rewarded for their efforts."

The Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature is a student-run mock government that replicates all three branches of the state government of Oklahoma. Founded under the administration of former Governor George Nigh, OIL provides students from colleges and universities across the state an opportunity to write, debate, and pass legislation about the issues they believe are important. OIL also contains a mock executive branch, moot court, and a press corps.



April 23, 2010