Cameron professor to be inducted into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Cameron University’s Dr. E. Ann Nalley, professor of chemistry, will be inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame during a gala ceremony in Oklahoma City on October 12. The honor comes from the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society, which recognizes outstanding men and women who have excelled in higher education and who have encouraged others to contribute to the economic development and quality of life in Oklahoma.

photo of Dr. Ann Nalley“Dr. Nalley’s drive and energy have inspired generations of Cameron University chemistry students,” says Dr. John McArthur, Vice President for Academic Affairs. “She is one of Cameron’s most recognized faculty members. Dr. Nalley’s passion for chemistry and dedication to her students is extraordinary. I am proud of her service leading to this prestigious honor.”

Dr. Nalley has served the students of Cameron University for more than 40 years. She earned a B.S. in 1965, an M.S. in 1969, and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Texas Woman’s University in 1975. Nalley started her teaching career as a chemistry and mathematics instructor at Muskogee Central High School before joining the Cameron faculty in 1969. In 1995, Nalley received Cameron’s highest service honor, the Distinguished Service Award, becoming the first professor to be so honored. She was inducted into the Cameron University Alumni Association’s Faculty Hall of Fame in 1996.

Dr. Nalley's activities in the American Chemical Society as well as the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi have earned her recognition at the national level. In 1992, she was honored by the five sections of the American Chemical Society as the Oklahoma Chemist of the Year, the first and only woman to be so honored. In 1996, she was honored by the American Chemical Society when she was presented with the Henry Hill Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professionalism. 

Other honors include the Oklahoma State Science Teacher's Association, Higher Education Oklahoma State Science Teacher of the Year; Oklahoma's Governor’s OCAST Award for Outstanding Contributions to Economic Development in Oklahoma; Southwest Technology Distinguished Research Award; the Cameron University Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Promotion of Excellence Award; two Phi Kappa Phi Meritorious Service Award; and the Iota Sigma Pi Award in Professional Excellence.

Her work has earned international acclaim, as demonstrated by her having been the plenary speaker at chemistry conferences at Seoul, Havana, Singapore, and Taipei.  She was the first woman to hold a position on the Committee to Organize an International Meeting for the Chemical Societies of the Countries Bordering on the Pacific Ocean (PACIFICHEM).  

Nalley also served on the Board of Directors of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the largest and most prestigious multidisciplinary honor society, for 21 years, serving as National President from 1995-98. 

Nalley joins 10 other inductees: Dr. William R. Carmack, University of Oklahoma; Dr. James J. Cook, Rose State College and Seminole State College; Dr. John E. Fagan , University of Oklahoma; Dr. John M. Hays, Southwestern Oklahoma State University;  Dr. Barry A. Kinsey, University of Tulsa; Dr. L. Lee Manzer, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Tom J. McDaniel, Oklahoma City University; Dr. Roger J. Panciera, Oklahoma State University; Dr. R. Leon Price, University of Oklahoma; and Dr. Doug Watson. Oklahoma Baptist University.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame was established in 1994 to recognize and honor individuals, living and deceased, for outstanding meritorious service to higher education in Oklahoma. To be eligible for induction, an individual must have been employed by one or more institutions of public and private higher education in Oklahoma on a full-time basis for a minimum of 10 years.


October 7, 2010

PR# 10-186