Cameron University Communication Department honors students with awards

Cameron University's Department of Communication honored students during its annual awards ceremony on April 27. Awards were presented in numerous categories.

Recipients in the field of Speech were Roxanne Christian, Salisbury, Dominica, who received the Dr. Richard Smith Outstanding Debate Competitor Award, and Jordan Scribner, Jenks, who was honored with the Tony Allison Outstanding Forensics Contributor Award as well as the Dr. J.C. Hicks Outstanding Individual Events Competitor Award. 

In the Broadcast field, students specializing in Radio/Television were recognized. Awards were presented to Michael Faggett, Dallas, TX, for Television Producing; Cameron Goss, Lawton, for Television Photography; Ishia Saltibus, Micoud, St. Lucia, and Jenyann Roig, Lawton, for Television Directing; and Jason Elbert, Lawton, Radio Production, and Mitch Watson, Garden City, KS, for Radio News.

Public Relations/Organizational Communication students were honored as follows: Chelsea Robertson, Lawton, Brandon Thompson, Cyril, and Tori Strecker, Chattanooga, for Academic Excellence; and Jennifer Knapp, Duncan, who was named Outstanding Senior in PR.

Journalism students were recognized for their contributions to The Collegian, the CU newspaper. Collegian Awards were presented to Justin Cliburn and Amanda Finch, both of Lawton; Bennett Dewan, Anchorage, AK; Rachel Engel, Burleson, TX; Michael Faggett, Dallas, TX; Jim Horinek, Duncan; Alyssa Knerr, Norman; Kyle Luetters, Garden City, KS; Rashmi Thapaliya, Kathmandu, Nepal; and Tori Strecker, Chattanooga.

Alex Lyons, American Fork, UT, and Ashley Del Ciello and Tanesha Wilson, both of Lawton, received Lambda Pi Eta Research Awards. Lambda Pi Eta is the national honorary society for undergraduates in communication that recognizes, fosters, and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while stimulating interest in the communication discipline.


May 14, 2010