Phi Sigma Iota holds initiation banquet

Cameron University's Delta Rho Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, the Foreign Language International Honor Society, welcomed 15 new members during its recent Initiation Banquet.  Phi Sigma Iota recognizes outstanding ability and achievement in the study or teaching of academic fields related to foreign language, literature or culture.

Inducted into the Delta Rho chapter were CU students Nicole F. Broberg, David Lopez-Thiel, Jennifer Nicole McGuirk, Amparo Pinzon Arce, Wilson Estvan Rodriguez, Vinetta Rhonda Stanton and Holly Jean Van Pelt, all of Lawton; John Adam Chappell, Fletcher; Christina Elizabeth Compton, Cache; Anthony C. Olivo, Duncan; Lorna Liz Rentas, Geronimo; Lulu Fayet Skinner, Frederick; CU faculty members Dr. Marie-Ginette Baillargeon and Dr. Vivian A. Thomlinson; and Visiting Fulbright Scholar Hyejin Ko.

Faculty advisor Teresa Lubrano installed the following officers for 2009-2010: President, Patrick Michael Copeland, Lawton; Vice President, Geraldine Colette Brady, Lawton; Secretary/Treasurer, Dr. George Edward Stanley, Professor; Assistant Faculty Advisor, Misael Santiago, Instructor.

Scholarship and awards were also presented during the ceremony. The Delta Rho Benke Scholarship was awarded to Geraldine Brady of Lawton, Jo Shan Hung of Chong-Ho City, Taiwan; and Ashish Pathak of Bareilly, India. The Graziella Scholarship was awarded to Morgan Ward, Lawton.

About Phi Sigma Iota

Founded in 1922, Phi Sigma Iota was the first language society to receive membership in the U.S. Association of College Honor Societies. Membership is by invitation only and is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages. The society provides national recognition of achievement, a national network of colleagues, participation in a learning community to broaden horizons, local and national leadership opportunities, publication opportunities in the Society's issues of "The Forum" and "Chapter News," and scholarship opportunities. The Delta Rho Chapter at Cameron University, chartered in May 1988, was the first Phi Sigma Iota chapter chartered in the state of Oklahoma and is one of only two chapters in Oklahoma. There are approximately 250 chapters throughout the U.S., Mexico and France.

Undergraduate members are required to major or minor on one of the following fields: Foreign Languages, Classics, ESL, Comparative Literature, Foreign Language Education, Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition and other interdisciplinary programs with a significant foreign language component. Additionally, undergraduates must maintain a GPA of 3.0 or higher, attain junior standing or above before initiation, have completed at least one course in a foreign language by the third-year level or beyond; and be at the upper 35 percent of their class. Graduate students shall be eligible for membership upon completion of at least one full semester, or equivalent quarters, of foreign language graduate work at the institution of the electing Chapter, and upon attaining a high degree of competence in at least one foreign language. At the time of consideration for membership, they must have earned a B-plus average in all graduate work and in the aggregate of courses in foreign languages. Teachers and Researchers in any of the above fields are eligible for membership following at least one year of service at the chapter's institution.


April 7, 2009