Phi Kappa Phi inducts new members, recognizes community members

Cameron University students, faculty members and alumni were inducted into the university's Chi Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony held in mid-April. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. CU's Chi Eta Sigma chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is the only regional university in Oklahoma with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.

Alumna Ruth A. Jones, who graduated in 1989 with a B.S. in Elementary Education and earned a Master's of Education in 1995, was inducted into Phi Kappa Phi. A fourth grade teacher, she is the 2008/2009 Teacher of the Year at Coronado Heights Elementary School in Oklahoma City.

Faculty members selected for membership in 2009 include Cathy Blackman, Assistant Professor, Library; Dr. Roy Couch, Assistant Professor, Music; Dr. Dennis Frisby, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences; and Dr. Su Ho Lee, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice & Sociology.

Students selected for membership are listed by hometown:

Altus: Marianne J. Nagy                                                                       

Basseterre, St. Kitts & Nevis: Kimberly J. Crawford

Cache: Michael S. Doyle, Christi M. Ellis, Douglas W. Maki

Chattanooga: Megan L. Mefford

Cleveland, OH: Paula M. Simpson

Comanche: Jeremy J. Newton

Duncan: Kaleigh D. Carter, Karon J. Hawkins, Marrik R. Wooten

Elgin: DeAnn G. Mabry, Anita L. West

Fletcher: John A. Chappell        

Frederick: Laura E. Cowan                               

Grandfield: William Kyle Bolton

Gros Islet, St. Lucia: Kenona H. Southwell       

Indiahoma: Lisa D. Neugebauer

Jhonge City, Taiwan: En-Hai Lee

Lawton: Lauren Bennett, Andrea Boston, Elizabeth Bryan, Nadine C. Cambron, Alex J. Castro, James L. Chester, Jason A. Cobb, Alexis N. DelCiello, Candace Easterly, Claudia L. Ewing, Megan E. Foster, Keri D. Franz, Lorrie M. French, David T. Gregory, Christine A. Hanna, Margaret A. Hanna, Dana L. Hatcher, Christopher L. Helton, Shawn D. Irwin, Rhonda W. Kennedy, Katherine F. Kinsey, Axel Y. Llavet, Jessica A. Milliman, Chelsea E. Robertson, Dawn E. Shilling, Kay L. Specht, Linda K. Staats, Lindsay M. Wagstaff, Marisa L. White, Chad A. Wilson               

Moore: Caitlyn M. Riedmann                 

Nawalparasi, Nepal: Samata Prawah

Parsons Village, St. Kitts & Nevis: Kishma P. Gumbs

Rosbach, Germany: Tobias Kuhn                                                                                 

Salvador-Bahia, Brazil: Ibirajara Vidal   

View-Fort, St. Lucia: Jeriah JnCharles, Miah JnCharles

Waurika: Jenna L. Boren, Melody Tyler                                                                         

Whitesboro, TX: Jorie Palmer  

Wichita Falls, TX: Joshan Hung


April 30, 2009