Cameron University Percussion Ensemble To Present Spring Semester Concert

The Cameron University Percussion Ensemble will present its Spring Semester Concert, featuring guest percussionist Dr. Lisa Rogers of Texas Tech University, on Thursday, March 26, 2009, at 8 p.m. in the Cameron University Theatre. The concert will feature an invigorating, exciting program of contemporary percussion ensemble literature performed by outstanding Cameron University music students. Admission to the concert, sponsored by the Cameron University Lectures and Concerts Series, is free.

2009 CU Percussion EnsembleThe Cameron University Percussion Ensemble, conducted by Dr. Jim Lambert, Professor of Music, includes both percussion and non-percussion majors. Current members include Jason Dozier, Grant Johnson, Jimmy Jones, Jarrod LaRoche, Jonathan Phelps, Kevyn Reece, Jeremy Toombs, and Christopher Turner, all of Lawton; Melissa Caswell, Elgin; Kimberly Garza, Iowa Park, TX; and Gareth Jester, Cache.

Selections will include original and arranged compositions for percussion ensemble, including "Feast" by Bill Douglas; "No Exit" by Lynn Glassock; "Pavane"  by Gabriel Faure, arranged by Jim Lambert; "Aria" by Emma Lou Diemer; "Irish Washerwoman," arranged by Nathan Daughtrey and featuring xylophone soloist Grant Johnson; "Head Talk" by Mark Ford; "Big Country" by Bela Fleck; "Hello, Young Lovers," arranged by Rolando Morales-Matos; "Carnival" by Rick Cline; "Ja-Mu by Rick Cline"; and "Morning Dance" by Beckenstein, arranged by LedBetter.

Dr. Lisa Rogers will be featured on the opening movement of Ney Rosauro's "Concerto for Vibraphone" and on "Orgel" by Takayoshi Yoshioka, a percussion duet with Grant Johnson.

Following the concert, Friends of Cameron Percussion will host a reception in the Cameron Theatre Lobby. For further information, contact the Cameron University Department of Music at 580--581-2440.


March 12, 2009
PR# 09-061