OPSA Conferences


Upcoming Events





Keynote Speaker


Conference Location and Conference Program

The 2016 Oklahoma Political Science Association Annual Conference will be held on the campus of the Oklahoma City University in Oklahoma City. Please make sure to review the information below carefully, as it will allow you, among others, to register for the conference and submit paper, panel, roundtable suggestions. 

Conference Registration

Welcome to this year's Oklahoma Political Science Association annual meeting registration. To register online for the conference, please click Online Conference Registration. The deadline for conference registration is November 4, 2016. Students from the following institutions of higher education pay no registration fee to attend the conference. (Cameron University, East Central University, Northeastern Oklahoma A & M, Northeastern State University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma Baptist University, Oklahoma Christian University, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma City University, Rogers State University, Rose State College, University of Central Oklahoma, University of Oklahoma, University of Tulsa).

Conference Payment

There are two options:

  1. complete and mail the OPSA Conference Registration Form or
  2. pay with your credit card by clicking the Buy Now button below (for conference fees, see Conference Registration Form).

Credit cards accepted


The online and OPSA Conference Registration forms specify the conference fees

Regardless of the payment option you select, please make sure to complete the Online Conference Registration.

Paper, Panel, Roundtable Submission

Please click here (TBD) to submit proposals for papers, panels, and roundtables and if you like to serve as chair and/or discussant. The deadline for submitting paper, panel, and roundtable suggestions is October 7, 2016.

Designated Conference Hotel


Student Awards

Student Paper Awards

Once again the Oklahoma Political Science Association is recognizing outstanding student achievement with Best Student Paper Awards.

Best OPSA Graduate Student Paper

To be considered for the award the respective paper must be presented at the OPSA conference.

Best OPSA Undergraduate Student Paper

To be considered for the award the respective paper must be presented at the OPSA conference.

To be eligible for the awards, all material must be submitted to the committee by October 14, 2016. In addition, the paper must be presented at the OPSA meeting November 5-6, 2015 Please send submissions to:


Tony Wohlers, Ph.D.
Director, Academic Enrichment
Cameron University
2800 W. Gore Blvd.
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: 580-581-2496


Previous Conference Programs

2015 Annual Meeting University of Central Oklahoma
2014 Annual Meeting Redlands Community College
2013 Annual Meeting University of Oklahoma
2012 Annual Meeting Cameron University
2011 Annual Meeting Rose State College
2010 Annual Meeting Rogers State University
2009 Annual Meeting East Central University
2008 Annual Meeting Cameron University
2007 Annual Meeting Oklahoma House of Representatives

Past and Current Presidents

1992-93 Robert Darcy Oklahoma State University
1993-94 Edward Dreyer Tulsa University
1994-95 Michael Sharp Northeastern State University
1995-96 Ronald Beeson University of Central Oklahoma
1996-97 Anthony Brown University Center at Tulsa
1997-98 John J. Ulrich East Central University
1998-99 Tony Litherland Oklahoma Bapist university
1999-00 Wiliam Gorden Redlands Community College
2000-01 Richard Johnson Oklahoma City University
2001-02 Jason Kirksey Oklahoma State University
2002-03 Frank S. Meyers Cameron University
2003-04 Keith Eakins University of Central Oklahoma
2004-05 Michael Sharp Northeastern State University
2005-06 Kenneth Hicks Rogers State University
2006-07 Rick Vollmer Oklahoma City Community College
2007-08 Rick Farmer Oklahoma State House of Representatives
2008-09 Tony Wohlers Cameron University
2009-10 Christine Pappas East Central University
2010-11 Steve Housel Rogers State University
2011-12 John Wood Rose State College
2012-16 Tony Wohlers Cameron University

Oklahoma Political Science Association

Managing Editor

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Oklahoma Politics
Cameron University

The Oklahoma Political Science Association (OPSA) is the professional organizations of Oklahoma political scientists and practitioners. Drawing on political scientists and practitioners from across the state, the OPSA brings together scholars from all fields of inquiry and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand understanding of politics and policies. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, your donation to the Oklahoma Political Science Association is tax deductible.