Cameron Home Page

Physical Science Department

contact webmaster

Physics II Homework assignments for Dr. Hawk's class:

Introduction to Quantum Mechanics  PHYS 3043

updated as the semester progresses.

Problem Assignment #1      Problem 1.10 of the text  (change pi to e)  due Tue.   Jan 17

Problem Assignment #2      Problem 1.3 of the text                              due Thur. Jan 19

Problem Assignment #3      Problem 1.5                                               due Tue. Jan 24

Problem Assignment #4      Problem 1.17                                             due Thur. Jan 26

Problem Assignment #5      Problem 2.4                                               due Thur. Feb 2

Problem Assignment #6      Problem 2.7                                                due Thur. Feb 9

Problem Assignment #7     Special prob                                                due Tue. Feb14 

Using  eq. 2.81 determine the Hermite polynomial for n=5, normalize so the leading coefficient is 2^5

Problem Assignment #8     Problem 2.23                                                due Tue. Feb 28

Problem Assignment #9     Problem 2.33    E<Vo part only                    due Thursday, March 8

Problem Assignment #10    Special Problem                                           due Thursday, March 8

Following the handout on the Finite Square Well, determine the ground state energy of a particle in a well of depth Vo=10

copy of the handout on finite square well

graphical solution                         solution using maxima for assignment #10

Problem Assignment #11   Problem 4.2 (a) and (b)                                   due Tuesday, March 13

Probem Assignement #12  Problem 4.11 (a)                                              due Thursday, March 15

Problem Assignment #13  Problems 4.12 (a), and  4.13                             due Tuesday, March 27

Problem Assignment #14  Problem 4.14                                                    due Thursday, March 29

Problem Assignment #15  Problem 4.31                                                    due Tuesday, April 3

Problem Assignment #16  Problems 5.1c, 5.2, and 5.4                               due Tuesday, April 17

Problem Assignment #17  Problems 6.1a, and 6.3                                      due Tuesday, April 24

Return to Hawk's Homepage