History of the Phi Kappa Phi

National Phi Kappa Phi

In 1897 a group of 10 students at the University of Maine, who perceived a need for an honor society on broader lines than any then in existence, was assisted by interested professors to organize the Lamb da Sigma Eta Society.  A year or so later the name was changed to the Morrill Society, in honor of the sponsor of the Congressional Act which provided for landgrant colleges.  In 1900 it was transformed into a national society by action of a committee compos ed of the presidents of the University of Maine, the University of Tennessee, and Pennsylvania State College (now Pennsylvania State University). The chapters in these institutions are the founding chapters. The Society was renamed Phi Kappa Phi, from the initial letters of the Greek words forming its adopted motto:
Philosophîa Krateîto Photôn, "Let the love of learning rule humanity." Phi Kappa Phi currently has chapters in institutions from Maine to the Philippines and from Alaska to Puerto Rico.

Cameron Chapter

Phi Kappa Phi was installed at Cameron University on May 15, 1975, when a charter was signed by ten members of the faculty.

Charter Members:

  • Jack Amyx
  • Lyeva Engelman
  • Jessie May Hines
  • Thomas McCollom
  • Loren McKeown
  • David Miller
  • Sylvia Miller
  • E. Lane Netherland
  • Charles Smith
  • Bob Quinten

Past Presidents

10/12 - Hyunsoon Whang 86/87 - Sondra Bonnington
09/10 - Curtis Kull 85/86 - Loren McKeown
96/97 - Sally Soelle 84/85 - Larry Shanahan
95/96 - Gary Buckley 83/84 - Ralph Blodgett
94/95 - Jane Morse 82/83 - Ralph Bennett
93/94 - Vivian Thomlinson 81/82 - Margie McMahan
92/93 - Scherrey Cardwell 80/81 - Phil Simpson
91/92 - Rebecca Pazoureck 79/80 - Ann Nalley
90/91 - Thomas Atwater 78/79 - Ann Nalley
89/90 - Ruth Loring 77/78 - Charles Smith
88/89 - Barbara Kerr Scott 76/77 - Lane Netherland
87/88 - Don Phillips 75/76 - Lane Netherland