Sigma Tau Delta welcomes new members, presents awards

The Cameron University Department of English and Foreign Languages recently welcomed 15 new members to the Beta Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Sigma Tau Delta strives to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.

Inducted into Sigma Tau Delta were Hannah Wiginton, Cache; Jessica Allmon, Gary Reddin, Duncan; Joshua Bloomfield, Fletcher; Megan Medlinger, Hastings; Kathleen Anne Arongay, Kylie Erricson, Sheila Griffin, Rebecca Harris, Stacie Larsen, Meta Mikal Tate, Lawton;  Jarod Brown, Jordan Hunt-Pebeahsy, Marlow; Abigale Hooper, Norman; and Ana Paez, Purcell.

Allmon will serve as president for 2017-18, and Hunt-Pebeahsy was elected vice president. Sandesh Pokharel, Kathmandu, Nepal, will serve as secretary; Harris as treasurer, and Larsen as Student Government Representative.

Scholarship awards were also announced. Elizabeth Daigle, Lawton, received the Geraldine Burns Award, presented by the Oklahoma Council for Teachers of English. The Lawton Shakespeare Club Award was presented to Hooper.

Brown, Hooper, Hunt-Pebeashy, Larsen, Medlinger, and Reddin were also recognized for internships and student research as were Nicholas Brush, Edmond; Breanna Lane, Elgin; Levi Kinnamore, Rachel Patterson, Lelani Roman, Zoie Timothy, and Richard West, Lawton.

Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society, was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.


April 3, 2017