Cameron University students, staff and faculty honored by Phi Kappa Phi

Cameron University students, alumni, staff and faculty members were honored by Phi Kappa Phi during the university chapter’s annual induction ceremony and awards presentation last week. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

“Selection for membership in Phi Kappa Phi is a great honor,” says Karen Hardin, chapter president. “We are pleased to celebrate the achievements of this year’s inductees.”

Students selected for membership are listed by hometown:

Akoko Bariga, Lagos State, Nigeria: Toluwalope Adeyemi

Amuwo Odofin, Lagos State, Nigeria: Ayokunmi Akintunde

Bagmati, Nepal: Alex Dangol

Basseterre, St. Kitts & Nevis: Tricia Rawlins

Benton, Ark.: Felisha Fox

Burns Flat:  Michael Stevens

Checotah: John D. Nichols

Cyril: Colt Moore

Duncan: Kendall Diaz, Jessica Harmon, Megan Heinrich, Rachel Rochell, John D. Sampley

Elgin: Krista Pylant

Fletcher: Chelsea Marks

Geronimo: Melissa Weidow

Gotebo: Kaylee Claunch

Indiahoma: Robert Mallett

Jhapa, Nepal: Abhaya Poudel

Kanchanpur, Nepal: Surekha Bohara

Kathmandu, Nepal: Kabina Khadka, Ujjwol Khatri, Sagun Panta,  Anista Shrestha, Nirjal Shrestha, Sandesh Thapa

Krum, Texas: Jordan Sizemore

Lagos, Nigeria: Adewunmi Adebanjo, Hope Okeke

Lawton/Fort Sill: Jimmy Arter, KC Barrington, Dawn Becker-Miller, Tiana Buckner, Lorenzo Butler, Sandi Colby, Mackenzie Daley, Lesley Davis-Roberts, Shelbey Dismuke, Raquel Flores, Taegan Gatlin, Zayna Haliburton, Chelsey Harper, Christopher Hodge, Cassadie Holybee,Kelsey Lehr, Jette March, Christine Moore, Bethany Morlett, Alisha Ortiz, Casandra Powell, Gwendalyn Sandiford, Casey Smith, Jennifer Stringham,  Trisha Vernon-Cole, Heather Wheeler, Abbie Wright

Lindsay: Courtney Shaffer

Manang, Nepal: Karma Gurung

Marlow: Dylan Sparks

Mountain View: Summer Palmer

Mustang: Christopher Lacock

New Baneshwor, Nepal: Sargam Ghimire

Norman: Abigale Hooper

Oklahoma City: Natalie Wimer

Omaha, Neb.: Jayden Roy

Oshodi, Lagos State, Nigeria: Tochukwu Nwaiwu

Pryor: Kimberly Morgan

Randlett: Shelly Stanley-Thompson

Sentinel: Danielle Quickle

St. George, Grenada: Donnet Williams

St. John’s, Grenada: Renatha Edwards

St. John’s Parish, St. Kitts & Nevis: Urnesia Pemberton

Walters: Rachel Heintzman, Marisa Lebarre

Yaba, Lagos State, Nigeria: Amarachi Oleru

CU staff member Renee Roach, Assistant Registrar, was also selected for membership.

Katherine Liontas-Warren, Professor of Art, was honored as Distinguished Faculty, and Dr. Jeffrey Froude, Class of 2002, was honored as Distinguished Alumnus.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. CU's Chi Eta Sigma chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is host to one of only four chapters in the state of Oklahoma and is the only regional university in Oklahoma with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.


March 28, 2017