Cameron University students win awards at state broadcast competition

Cameron University broadcast students won nine awards in the 27th annual student competition sponsored by the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association (OBEA). Haley Berry, Mary Davis, Jay Escobar, Jonathon Good, Zayna Haliburton, Erin King, Alexis Page, Savannah Sanders and Mason Stuart were honored for their entries.  They will receive their awards during the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters’ (OAB) Annual Student Day on March 30.

“Our students were excited about the competition this year and they did quite well,” says Steve Adams, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication. “I’m really proud of them. They worked hard during the last year and now they are receiving some recognition for their efforts.”

Escobar, Oklahoma City, won first place in the Music Video category, and Stuart, Stillwater, won first place in Radio Commercial.

Berry, Lawton, and Good, Tipton, claimed second place in the TV Sports Magazine category for the CUTV program, “Game Time.”

In the Radio Newscast category, Davis, Lawton, won second place, and King, Lawton, placed third.

Page, El Paso, Texas, won second place in TV Entertainment for “Film Geek.”

Sanders, Madill, claimed two awards: second place for Radio Commercial and third place for Radio Promotional Spot.

Haliburton, Lawton, claimed the third place award for TV Newscast. She served as producer for “CU News.”  Haliburton has also been selected as the recipient of one of six annual scholarships awarded by the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters.



March 2, 2017