Cameron University business students inducted into Delta Mu Delta honor society

Cameron University’s Iota Sigma chapter of the Delta Mu Delta (DMD) International Honor Society in Business recently inducted 31 new members. Delta Mu Delta recognizes and encourages academic excellence to create a DMD community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community through lifetime membership.

Spring 2017 inductees are listed by hometown.

Abuja, Nigeria: Larai Audu

Altus: Katelyn Hall, Flint Nobles

Bagmati, Nepal: Alex Dangol

Barcelona, Spain: Paula Gutierrez Casas

Cache: Saegen Elizabeth Igo

Camp Lejeune, N.C.: Loy Apriesnig

Duncan: Aubreann Champ, John Sampley, Aaron Sanders, Kim Vines, Kayla Willett

Egbin, Lagos, Nigeria: Jolajesu Opaleye

Elgin: DeAnn Iman

Fletcher: Chelsea Marks

Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria: Gbemisola Dina

Kathmandu, Nepal: Sagun Panta

Killeen, Texas: Meagan Sonnenburg

Lagos, Nigeria: Oluwadamilola Seweje

Lawton: Brian Anderson, Savoy King, Ann Patterson, Jeremy Vawter

Sumter, S.C.: William Hill

Tipton:  Christian Easley

Virginia Beach, Va.: Kelda Latham-Bennett

Walters: Makenna Brown, Marisa Lebarre

Willamina, Ore.: Kristine Neese

Willow: Kreg Austin McMurtry

Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria: Olawunmi Malomo

In addition, Dr. Lisa Huffman, Dean of the School of Graduate and Professional Studies, and Robert McDaniel, an adjunct instructor in the Department of Business, were inducted as Honorary members.

Dr. Pamela Rogers and Dr. Aubree Walton serve as faculty advisors to the chapter.

“The purpose of Delta Mu Delta is to promote higher education and recognize the scholastic accomplishments of students in the Department of Business,” says Rogers. “We are pleased to have a Delta Mu Delta chapter at Cameron University in order to provide business students another reason to strive for academic distinction.”  

Delta Mu Delta chapters officers for 2017-18 were installed during the ceremony. Kelda Latham Bennett will serve as President; Meagan Sonnenburg is the Vice President; Aubreann Champ was installed as Secretary, and Jolajesu Opaleye takes over the duties of Treasurer.

The Iota Sigma chapter was installed at Cameron in March 2001. Membership is by invitation only for business students. Undergraduate students are required to have completed at least half of the course work required for a bachelor’s degree and be in the top 20 percent of their class. Graduate students are required to have completed at least half of the course work required for the master’s degree and be in the top 20 percent of their class.

“The exclusivity of Delta Mu Delta is a reward in itself,” says Walton. “It’s an honor recognizing students who work hard to set themselves apart from their peers.”



April 25, 2017