Cameron University Communication Department honors students with awards

Cameron University’s Department of Communication honored students during its annual awards ceremony. Awards were presented in numerous categories.

Recipients of Forensics awards were Savanna Sanders, Madill, who was honored with the Dr. J.C. Hicks Outstanding Individual Events Competitor Award; Teague Fox, Tuttle, who received the Dr. Richard Smith Outstanding Debate Competitor Award, and Kristopher Mayfield, Okmulgee, who received the Tony Allison Outstanding Forensics Contributor Award. The Pi Kappa Delta Service award was presented to Alexander Amos, Broken Arrow.

In the Broadcast field, students specializing in Radio/Television were recognized. Awards were presented to Savannah Sanders, Madill, Radio Production; Alexsis Page, El Paso, Texas, Television Host; Kerry Schoonaert, Lawton, TV Directing; Mary Davis, Lawton, TV Photography; and Zayna Haliburton, Lawton, TV Production. Page also received the Duncan Economic Development Foundation Production Award.

CUTV Productions awards were presented to Caitlin Anders, Julia Davis, Erica Driskill-Smith, Kevin Smith and Markel Turrell, Lawton; and Miranda Fritts, Chattanooga.

Journalism students were recognized for their contributions to CU’s newspaper, The Collegian, and Receiving the Award of Excellence were Payton Williams, Comanche; Christopher Reif, Fountain, Colo.; and Cydney Cheyenne Cole, Joel Frambes, Jacob Jardel, Stacie Larsen, and Erin Owens, Lawton. Jardel also received the Caped Crusader Award.

Inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, the national honorary society for undergraduates in communication that recognizes, fosters, and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while stimulating interest in the communication discipline, were Zachary Young, Comanche; Cody Jackson, Community, Texas; Alexis Maldonado, Elgin; Sav Price, Lavon, Texas; Savanna Sanders, Madill; Haley Berry, Jetty Gordon, Marlow; Elizabeth Good, Jonathon Good, Tipton; and Cydney Cole, Julia Davis, Mary Ann Davis, Zayna Haliburton, Erin King, Erin Owens and Kerry Schoonaert, Lawton.



May 1, 2017