Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering presents awards, scholarships

The Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony in which students were inducted into honor societies and received recognition, and scholarships were awarded.

Inductees into Gamma Sigma Epsilon, the national chemistry honor society, were Brooke Armstrong, Boise, Idaho; John Tidwell, Duncan; Garrett Jensen and Megan Magness, Elgin; Emmanuel Ilondior, Festac Town, Nigeria; Suresh Sunuwar, Kathmandu, Nepal; Adewunmi Adebanjo, Elizabeth Momoh, Michael Onyeizu, Lagos, Nigeria; Sarah Downen, Jason Lewis, Aleigh Peiroo, Hazel Salonga, Brandon T. Schmidt, Tiffany Swinford, Kelley Vajgrt, Hannah Vossen and Jeein Yoon, Lawton/Fort Sill; Timothy Alaniz, Marlow; David Coffey, Mountain Park; Tochukwu Nwaiwu, Oshodi, Lagos, Nigeria; and Amarchi Oleru, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria.

Micah Coleman, Lawton, received the Freshmen Chemistry-Sequence Award, and Megan Magness, Elgin,  was honored as Outstanding Student Worker.

John Criswell, Comanche, received the Wichita Falls/Duncan Section of the American Chemical Society Senior Award.

Scholarship recipients were Micah Coleman, Lawton, and Chelsea Iluno, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria; who received the Tom Brown Scholarship; David Coffey, Mountain Park, who received the Billy Slabaugh Memorial Endowed Scholarship.

Amarachi Oleru, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria, received the Raymond “Red” Miller Achievement Award which recognizes academic performance by a student pursuing a degree in chemistry, and Lindsay Gladwell, Lawton, was honored with the Allen Zisman Excellence in Chemistry Award.

Recipients of the Jimmy and Virgie Stanton Achievement Award, which recognizes academic performance by students pursuing a degree in chemistry or physics, were Adewunmi Adebanjo, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria; Aleigh Peiroo, Lawton; Elizabeth Momoh, Lagos, Nigeria; and Tochukwu Nwaiwu, Oshodi, Lagos, Nigeria. .

NASA Awards, provided by a grant from NASA to support students in STEM programs, were presented to  Erik Perez, Altus; Kyle Christensen, Megan Magness, Elgin; and Mark Bannon, Michael Bannon, Marina Brown, Cayla Caveny, Emmanual Geniz,  Hezekiah Jones, Lindsay Maez, Noah Polynice, Hella Quinnett, Brandon Schmidt and Justin Smith and Jeein Yoon, Lawton.

Pasang Hyolmo, Kathmandu, Nepal, and Garrett Jensen, Elgin, were honored with the Chemistry Award, which recognizes students who have excelled in the Chemistry program.

Students receiving tuition waiver scholarships were Weslee Fountain, Brandon Schmidt, Tiffany Swinford and Mitchell Welch, all of Lawton.



May 2, 2017