Cameron University Office of Campus Life presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Campus Life presented awards to students, faculty and staff during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding college students over the age of 25. A committee of faculty, staff and students selects honorees for both lists based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics. 

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Chattanooga: Chelsey Harper

Comanche:  Zachary Young 

Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria:  Oluwatoyin Kayode 

Kathmandu, Nepal:  Sijalu Paudel 

Lagos, Nigeria:  Adewunmi Adebanjo, Ayokunmi Akintunde 

Lawton:  Mark Bannon, Shelbey Dismuke, Kylie Erricson, Taegan Gatlin, Alexandra Kolinski, Meta Tate, Nisha Wagle, Jeein Yoon 

Makawanpur, Nepal:  Sujana Rupakheti 

Norman:  Abigale Hooper 

Tipton:  Elizabeth Good 

Walters:  Donovan Heintzman, Cassidy Wall 

Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria:  Amarachi Oleru 

Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Chicago, Ill.:   Mackenzie Daley

Cozad, Neb.:   Kyra Ann Franklin

Kathmandu, Nepal:   Karma Gurung

Lawton:   Ronald Brown, Sarah Downen, Tathena Griffitts-Shaw, Kelly High, Jacob Jardel, Stacie Larsen

St. George's, Grenada: Diandra Pierre

Hannah Vossen, Houston, Texas, was sworn in as president of the Student Government Association for 2016-17. Brandon Schmidt, Lawton, and Elizabeth Momoh, Lagos, Nigeria, were sworn in as vice president and treasurer, respectively. Hannah Vosssen, Houston, Texas, and Michael Bannon, Lawton, were honored as SGA Senators of the Year.

Kylie Erricson, Lawton, and Kinley Fehring, Lawton, were sworn in as President and Vice-President of PAC for 2016-17.Chelsey Harper, Chattanooga, was named Outstanding PAC Chair, and Aalia Oloyede, Ibadan, Oye, Nigeria, was named Outstanding PAC Committee Member.

Victoria-Lemoe Esera, Lawton and Terrence Robinson, Indiahoma, were named Intramural Players of the Year.

Dr. James Heflin, Associate Professor of Communication, was named Professor of the Year. Sheila Youngblood, advisor for the Engineering Club, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Sharon Gloden, administrative assistant in the Office of Business and Finance, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

The Aggie Club was named Student Organization of the Year in addition to being recognized as a Five-Star Organization. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement. Additional Five-Star Organizations are Aggie Outreach, Alpha Phi, Beta Beta Beta, Cameron University Honors Students Society, Cameron University International Club, Cameron University Nepalese Association, Delta Sigma Pi Business Fraternity, Financial Management Association, Psi Chi and Sigma Tau Delta.

The Kuwaiti Soldier Outreach Program sponsored by Sigma Tau Delta and CU’s Army ROTC was honored as Outstanding Community Service Project. Guy Eugene, Lawton, was recognized as Outstanding Emerging Student Organization Leader for his involvement in the Accounting Club and Student Veterans of America. The Outstanding Program of the Year award was presented for Engineering Week, sponsored by the Engineering Club. Nirjal Shrestha Kathmandu, Nepal, was honored as Outstanding Student Organization Leader for his involvement in the Cameron University Nepalese Association.



April 20, 2017