Cameron University Department of Business honors students

The Cameron University Department of Business recognized student achievement during a recent ceremony during which scholarships and awards were presented.

Five graduating students were honored as Distinguished Graduates: Jeremy Vawter, Lawton, Associate in Applied Science in Business; Harley Van Winkle, Lawton – Bachelor of Accounting; Ronald Brown, Lawton – Bachelor of Business Administration; Alyssa LaBlanc, Humble, Texas – Master of Business Administration; and Brian Warnock, Lawton – Master of Science in Organizational Leadership.

Recipients of the James R. & Irene J. Lawrence Memorial Endowed Trust Scholarship were Larai Audu, Abuja, Nigeria; Elias Page, Altus; Saegen Ellis, Cache;  Aubreann Champ, Justin Chasteen, Alexa Goldsberry, Kimberly Vines, Duncan; Jolajesu Opaleye, Ebgin, Lagos, Nigeria; Chelsea Marks, Fletcher; Gbemisola Dina, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria; Sagun Panta, Kathmandu, Nepal; Oluwadamilola Seweje, Lagos, Nigeria; Chelsea Archer, Yvonne Moore, Keistin Schmidt, Zoie Timothy, Allison Vandever, Trisha Vernon-Cole, Nichole Warren, Jacinta Williams, Lawton; Summer Palmer, Mountain View; Beau Hughes, Norman; Kelda Latham-Bennett, Virginia Beach, Va.; Makenna Brown, Walters; and Olawunmi Malomo, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria.

Recipients of the Blanche Beavers Endowed Scholarship in Business are Candace Carnahan, Duncan; Garrett Johnson, Elgin; Chelsea Marks, Fletcher; Sharon Morgan, Flint, Texas; and Clayton White, Lawton.

Students receiving the Reginal C. Brown Endowed Scholarship are Elias Page, Altus; Aubreann Champ, Duncan; Sagun Panta, Kathmandu, Nepal; Chelsea Archer, Yvonne Moore, Zoie Timothy, Nichole Warren, Lawton; Summer Palmer, Mountain View; and Beau Hughes, Norman;

Recipients of the David A. Himes Endowed Memorial Scholarship were Elias Page, Altus; Nicole Rosas, Apache; Stacey Corp, Jordan Setters, Duncan; and Ann Robbins, Lawton.

Stacey Corp, Duncan; Oluwadamilola Seweje, Lagos, Nigeria; and Manish Sunam, Kathmandu, Nepal, each received the Cameron University BancFirst Investment Portfolio Endowed Scholarship. Savanah Stanley, Lawton, received the Charles & LaDonna Spradlin Endowed Scholarship, and Saegen Ellis, Cache, was awarded the Shelia O. Lee Endowed Scholarship. The Bhargava Family Endowed Scholarship in Business was presented to Alex Dangol, Bagmati, Nepal. The OKHR Student Scholarship Award was presented to Kelda Latham-Bennett, Virginia Beach, Va.

The E. Virginia Charlson Memorial Endowed Scholarship, recognizing a student who has demonstrated scholastic achievement and is a valued member of the military community, was presented to Ann Robbins, Lawton.

Guy Eugene, Lawton, was presented with the Sylvia M. Burgess Service Award, which recognizes students who demonstrate a commitment to service within the community.

Harley Van Winkle, Lawton, was presented with the Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key, presented to the graduating student with the highest cumulative academic average toward a degree in business administration of economics.

The Outstanding Research Award, presented on behalf of the Bill W. Burgess, Jr. Business Research Center, was presented to Jayant Chaudhary, Rajbiraj, Nepal.

Chelsea Archer and Harley Van Winkle, both of Lawton, were named Outstanding Accounting Students by the Oklahoma Society of CPAs.

The Cameron University Department of Business is accredited by ACBSP, the specialized accreditation association for business education which embraces teaching excellence.



May 2, 2017