Cameron University welcomes 36th class of PLUS scholars

Cameron University has named 24 freshmen Presidential Leaders & University Scholars (PLUS) for the 2016-17 academic year. The PLUS program, now in its 36th year, is designed to reward students who have demonstrated academic excellence and outstanding leadership capabilities while in high school and to teach these students skills that will prepare them for dynamic leadership roles in their respective careers.

“Acceptance into the PLUS program is a distinct honor,” says Dr. Sylvia Burgess, Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs. “Over the next four years, these students will participate in numerous activities aimed at preparing them for leadership positions throughout their lifetime."

This year’s recipients come from across Oklahoma and combine a breadth of leadership and community service experiences. In addition to receiving scholarship packages worth more than $20,000, students selected for the program take part in a four-year leadership development program aimed at developing excellent citizens and professionals.

Students are chosen each year based on an application process that focuses on leadership experience, involvement in the community, grade point average, ACT/SAT scores, an essay on the topic of leadership and a formal interview.

PLUS scholars receive leadership training that helps them make the transition from high school to college, learn leadership theory, communication skills, group dynamics and problem solving. In later years of the program, the focus shifts to presentation skills and preparation for beginning a career with such workshops as résumé writing, interviewing and making wise career decisions.

The 2016-17 PLUS class members are listed by hometown. Each student’s intended area of study is also included.


Isabella Chandler, Criminal Justice                                                  


Dakota Connick, Social Studies Education

Payton McDonald, Biology

Sommer Roach, Business Administration


Jadel Higdon, Mathematics Education

Sarah Slaybaugh, Biology


Jordan Allison, Biology

Jordan Setters, Business Administration


Garrett Johnson, undecided

Kendra Mansfield, Biology

Bayley Wright, Early Childhood Education


Keegan Kendall, undecided


Albert Arredondo III, undecided                                                       

Robin Boudiette, Sports & Exercise Science

Madelyn Goodman, undecided                                                  

Cole Lehr, Journalism & Media Production

Madison Lyda, Communication

Rylee McKee, Political Science

Lawson Miracle, Chemistry

Hella Quinnett, undecided

Caitlyn Reser, Business Administration

Cheyenne Smith, Art


Madison Dirickson, undecided

Emily Lepien, Biology

For more information about Cameron’s PLUS program, go to



August 23, 2016

PR# 16-125