Cameron University students, staff and faculty inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

Cameron University students, staff and faculty members were inducted into the university's Chi Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony held last week. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

Faculty members selected for membership are Dr. Lance Janda, Chair, Department of History and Government; and Dr. Edris Montalvo, Assistant Professor of History and Government.

Mandy Husak, Coordinator of Academic Affairs, was also selected for membership.

Students selected for membership are listed by hometown:

Accra, Ghana: Samuella Odartey-Addo

Apache: Richard Dailey

Comanche: Zachary Young

Cyril: Tara Allen

Duncan: Ashton Major

Elgin: Harley Gault, Kristin Greenup

Frederick: Teresa Mitchell

Headrick: Justin Carpenter

Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria: Temilade Adelusi, Chima Aghaulor, Oluwatoyin Kayode

Indiahoma: Casey Curtsinger

Killeen, Texas: Andres Berber

Lawton/Fort Sill: Michelle Bannon, Marina Brown, Sheryl Johnson Bryan, Makenzie Burk, Katheryn Caffee, Benjamin Castricone, Lacey Daubenspeck, Tathena Griffitts, Jackie Hall, Bambi Hampton, Jamel Holt, Sr., Jeffery Jordan, Mary Kinnamore, Johnathan Larson ,Cheryl McLaughlin-Stansberry, Kathryn Nichols, Rachel Patterson, Rebekah Pullicar, Susan Pustejovskey, Sara Rivera, Gina Soto, Sarah Walker, Brianna Wiginton, Robert Williams, Haley Wilson, Jeein Yoon

Makawanpur, Nepal: Sujana Rupakheti

Marlow: Vicky Smith

Sterling: Kelsee Monroe

Walters: Donovan Heintzman, Robert McCoy

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. CU's Chi Eta Sigma chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is host to one of only five chapters in the state of Oklahoma and is the only regional university in Oklahoma with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.



March 28, 2016