Cameron Speech and Debate team returns from state tournament with numerous state championships

The Cameron Speech and Debate team has returned from the recent Oklahoma Intercollegiate Forensics Association tournament with numerous State Championship titles, after facing competition from 11 schools from a three-state area.

“The Cameron competitors delivered an exceptionally strong performance yet again,” says Sarah Collins, Director of Forensics. “Each member of the team put forth a great amount of effort in preparation for the state tournament. That commitment clearly paid off.”

In Parliamentary Debate, Alex Amos, Broken Arrow, and Kristopher Mayfield, Okmulgee, claimed the state championship. Amos was also named the Top Speaker in parliamentary debate.

Savanna Sanders, Madill, placed fourth in Dramatic Interpretation and third in Prose Interpretation. Dyllan Bramlett, Denison, Texas, placed seventh in that event as well as fourth in Poetry.

In Informative Speaking, Elizabeth Good, Tipton, placed third, and Cody Jackson, Lavon, Texas, placed fifth.

Good and Sanders teamed up for Duo Interpretation, placing first and claiming the state championship. Good was also named state champion in Program Oral Interpretation after taking first place.

Sanders added another first place in Persuasive Speaking, earning one of only two spots from the State of Oklahoma in the Interstate Oratory Competition. Sanders’ speech, “Legal Kidnapping: The Case of Predictive Neglect,” will be published in this year’s edition of “Winning Orations.”

Mayfield placed fourth in Communication Analysis and fifth in Poetry; and Amos placed second in Impromptu Speaking and third in Persuasive Speaking.

After the debate and individual events concluded and the sweepstakes points were tallied, Cameron claimed two additional state championships. The team won first place in Overall Sweepstakes and was named state champion, and was also named the state champion in Debate Sweepstakes. A third place finish in Individual Event Sweepstakes contributed to the Overall School Sweepstakes championship.


March 9, 2016

PR# 16-046