Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering presents awards, scholarships

The Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony in which students were inducted into honor societies and received recognition, and scholarships were awarded.

Inductees into Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society, were David Becker, Johnathan Larson, Orcun Ozkocak, Amber Ward, Lawton, and Scott Wilson, Indiahoma.

Inductees into Gamma Sigma Epsilon, the national chemistry honor society, were, Mariama Abramson, Cache; Mark Bannon, Victoria Boudiette, Marina Brown, Eugenie Chang, Ashton Dollins, Tamal-E Dujon, Saranah Isenberg, James Lutz, Patrick McAnerney, Shawn Mietchen, Conner Sullins and Brianna Wiginton, Lawton;  Saloni Basukala and Pasang Hyolmo, Kathmandu, Nepal; Lauren Lewis, Altus; Jihyo Park, Daegu, South Korea; Sujana Rupakheti, Makawanpur, Nepal; and Jared Stokes, Poteau.

Jonathan Drake, Altus, received the Freshmen Chemistry-Sequence Award, and Jessica Gesell, Lawton, was honored as Outstanding Student Worker.

Park received the Wichita Falls/Duncan Section of the American Chemical Society Senior Award.

Scholarship recipients were Tochukwu Nwaiwu, Oshodi, Lagos, Nigeria, and Amarachi Oleru, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria; who received the Tom Brown Scholarship; Drake, who received the Billy Slabaugh Memorial Endowed Scholarship; Michael Bannon, Lawton, who received the Physics Club Scholarship; and Adewunmi Adebanjo, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria, who received the Chemistry Club Scholarship.

Brandon Schmidt, Lawton, received the Raymond “Red” Miller Achievement Award which recognizes academic performance by a student pursuing a degree in chemistry, and Hunter Wurtz, Walters, was honored with the Allen Zisman Excellence in Chemistry Award.

Recipients of the Jimmy and Virgie Stanton Achievement Award, which recognizes academic performance by students pursuing a degree in chemistry or physics, were Basukala, Hyolmo, David Coffey, Mountain Park; Lindsey Gladwell, Cache; and Elizabeth Momoh, Lagos, Nigeria.

Receiving certificates of recognition for oral and poster presentations for undergraduate research were Mark Bannon, Hyolmo, Lutz, Ozkocak, Rupakheti, Rivas, Ward and Wurtz as well as Emmanuel Ilondior, Festac Town, Lagos, Nigeria; and Kevin Powers, Lawton.

The Department also recognized this year’s graduating seniors, who completed coursework in Fall 2015 or will complete coursework in May 2016 or July 2016. They are:


Associate in Applied Science in Engineering

Duncan: Andrew Finley

Lawton:  Anthony T. Crown, Hunter Hixon


Bachelor of Science in Chemistry

Altus:  Alexander Rivas

Comanche: John Criswell

Daegu, South Korea:  Jihyo Park

Dyersburg, Tenn.:  Jared Humpolick

Headrick:  Madison Rhodes

Lawton/Fort Sill:  Michelle Bannon, Eugenie Chang, Stephen Fike, Jessica Gesell, Kariel Ming, Dominic Mucker, Juan Ruiz, Cory Shipp, Scott Westfall, Maria Wilson, Phlip Worthen

Nairobi, Kenya:  Samuel Kibue

North Little Rock, Ark.:  Sasha C. Carter

Rush Springs: Zackary Jordan

Bachelor of Science in Physics

Lawton:  Orcun Ozkocak, Matthew J. Pluff, Kevin Powers, Aaron Walker

Redmond, Wash.:  Nicholas Smith


May 5, 2016\