Cameron University Department of Agriculture announces scholarship awards

The Cameron University Department of Agriculture recently presented scholarship and tuition waiver awards for the 2016-17 academic year to 24 students who are pursuing degrees in agriculture.

“University and privately funded scholarships are more critical than ever, and we appreciate the generosity of private donors as well as the university’s administration,” says Dr. Leon Fischer, Chair, Cameron University Department of Agriculture. “Agriculture continues to be one of the primary revenue streams in southwest Oklahoma, and CU agriculture graduates enter the workforce in a variety of career fields, including veterinary school and ultimately veterinary medicine, livestock production, research, crop production, and education. We are grateful to the donors who make it possible for us to ensure they have access to a quality education.”

Sarah Nortum, Kristopher Mayfield and Joe VanTreese, all of Lawton, received departmental tuition waivers.

Marli Barney, Velma, is the recipient of the Buck & Irene Clements Endowed Scholarship.

Six students received the Jack and Joyce Cline Endowed Scholarship. They are Taylor Monroe, Indiahoma; Melissa Weidow, Geronimo; Colton Gilpen, Faxon; Stesha Simpson, Walters, and Jessica Cauthon and Cody Julian, Lawton.

Debra Kime, Altus, received the Craig Foundation Scholarship.

Whitney Jung, Sterling, received the Kennedy/DHIA Scholarship.

Heather Stinebiser, Lawton, received the Johnny Kinder/Coldwell Banker-Presidents Partner Scholarship.

The recipient of the Western OK Farm Credit Service-Presidents Partner Scholarship was Jenna Neely, Altus.

Ashton Dollins, Lawton, and Katelyn Locy, Devol, received the Willy Flores, Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Three students received the Gale and Marcia Hagee Endowed Scholarship. They are Robert Luera and Kourtney Mullen, Lawton, and Madison White, Cache.

Receiving the Western OK Farm Credit Service Agriculture Scholarship were Ashton Langford, Elgin; Carley Raines, Aubrey, Texas; Tanner Childers, Marlow; Seth McCool, Nardin; and Sarah McLaughlin, Anadarko.


May 9, 2016